The Rotters' Club

‘One of those sweeping, ambitious yet hugely readable, moving, richly comic novels’ Daily Telegraph

    • 3.8 • 52 Ratings
    • £5.99
    • £5.99

Publisher Description

The first in The Rotters' Club series, bestselling author Jonathan Coe's iconic tale of Benjamin Trotter is a hilarious, heartfelt celebration of the joys and agonies of growing up

WINNER OF THE EVERYMAN WODEHOUSE PRIZE
__________

Birmingham, England, c. 1973: industrial strikes, bad pop music, first love, corrosive class warfare, detention, IRA bombings.

Four friends: a class clown who stoops very low for a laugh; a confused artist enthralled by rock; an earnest radical with socialist leanings; and a quiet dreamer obsessed with poetry, God, and the prettiest girl in school.

Unforgettably funny and painfully honest, packed with thwarted romance, class struggles and teenage angst, The Rotter's Club is perfect for readers of Nick Hornby and William Boyd - or anyone who ever experience adolescence the hard way!

THE STORY CONTINUES WITH THE CLOSED CIRCLE AND MIDDLE ENGLAND
__________

'One of those sweeping, ambitious yet hugely readable, moving and richly comic novels that you find all too rarely in English fiction . . . a masterpiece' Daily Telegraph

'Very funny . . . a compulsive and gripping read. Coe had achieved that rare feat: a novel stuffed with characters you really care for' The Times

'A book to cherish, a book to reread, a book to buy for all your friends' Independent on Sunday

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2008
28 May
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Books Ltd
SIZE
3.8
MB

Customer Reviews

Mbm? ,

Ultimately pointless

A strange book. Almost a stream of consciousness with very little in the way of story to link it together. When I finished it I felt sort of cheated, as if I’d wasted the time I’d put into it because it didn’t go anywhere.

Chris Smiff ,

Difficult

I found it too dense in terms of huge chunks of wandering but intense thoughts with little chance to draw breath. And at the end ?????
Not enough white space for me.

More Books by Jonathan Coe

2018
2008
2015
2008
2010
2020

Customers Also Bought

2013
2017
2013
2010
2013
2020