The Ruin The Ruin
Book 1 - The Cormac Reilly Series

The Ruin

The gripping crime thriller you won't want to miss

    • 3.9 • 23 Ratings
    • £4.99
    • £4.99

Publisher Description

Shortlisted for the Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year
Shortlisted for the RTE Listeners' Choice Award
Shortlisted for the Guardian Not the Booker Prize 2018

'As moving as it is fast-paced' VAL McDERMID
'Spectacularly good' MARIAN KEYES
'Beautifully drawn characters' LAURA MARSHALL

*****

February 1993

On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs.

March 2013

Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.

What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

This powerful debut will draw you into the dark heart of Ireland and ask who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Tana French and Susie Steiner.

*****

Praise for THE RUIN:

'Brilliantly crafted . . . an absolute treat!' SUNDAY MIRROR

'An exciting new voice in Irish noir' SUNDAY TIMES

'Corruption, clandestine cover-ups and criminal conspiracy . . . as moving as it is fast-paced' VAL McDERMID

'Absolutely brilliant. Wonderful characters, authentic setting, and a sublime, twisty plot' IRISH EXAMINER

'A compelling story with beautifully drawn characters I really cared about' LAURA MARSHALL

'Heartbreaking and heart-stopping' CAZ FREAR

'As convincing as it is multi-layered, as compelling as it is complex . . . Dervla is a future star of the genre' CHRIS BROOKMYRE

'Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan's expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden' KAREN DIONNE

'There are not many books that will keep me reading from start to finish but THE RUIN did just that . . . An excellent story, very well written . . . this one was a winner for me!' ALEX GRAY

'Loved every page . . . Cormac Reilly is a brilliant new character, so real you can hear his footsteps on the stairs. Utterly gripping, brilliantly executed story' SAM BLAKE

'Intelligent, compassionate and believable' SINEAD CROWLEY

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
8 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Little, Brown Book Group
SIZE
1.5
MB

More Books Like This

Locust Lane Locust Lane
2023
The Baby-Snatcher The Baby-Snatcher
2013
Reckoning Reckoning
2013
Cambridge Black Cambridge Black
2017
Seeds of Malice Seeds of Malice
2017
Garden of Lamentations Garden of Lamentations
2013

More Books by Dervla McTiernan

The Scholar The Scholar
2019
What Happened to Nina? What Happened to Nina?
2024
The Murder Rule The Murder Rule
2022
Dödens flod Dödens flod
2019
Die Gelehrte Die Gelehrte
2021
Todesstrom Todesstrom
2019

Customers Also Bought

Silver Silver
2019
Sleeping Beauties Sleeping Beauties
2017
Trust Trust
2020
The Boy Who Fell The Boy Who Fell
2019
After the Fire After the Fire
2020
The Darkest Place The Darkest Place
2018

Other Books in This Series