The Second Murderer The Second Murderer

The Second Murderer

Journey through the shadowy underbelly of 1940s LA in this new murder mystery

    • 3.7 • 9 Ratings
    • £7.99
    • £7.99

Publisher Description

'Denise Mina is a one-of-a-kind storyteller' James Patterson

"This is Marlowe."

"Mr. Philip Marlowe?" She asked.
I glanced at the clock. It was exactly eleven am, as if she had been waiting by the
phone for an appointed hour, following someone else's orders to the letter.
"What, d'you think we're a troupe of brothers? There is only me."

It's mid-September, a heatwave has descended on the parched hills of LA and Private Detective Philip Marlowe is called to the Montgomery estate, an almost mythic place sitting high on top of Beverly Hills. Wealthy twenty-two-year-old Chrissie Montgomery, set to inherit an enormous fortune, is missing.

She's a walking target, ripe for someone to get their claws into. Her dying father, along with his sultry bottle blonde girlfriend, wants her found before that happens. They've hired Anna Riorden, Marlowe's nemesis, too. The search takes them to the roughest neighbourhoods of LA through dive bars and Skid Row. And that's before he finds the body at The Brody Hotel. Who will get to her first, Marlowe, Anne, or the men chasing her fortune? And does she want to be found?

Discover the rest of the inimitable Philip Marlowe series - nine classic Chandler adventures, from The Big Sleep to The Long Goodbye, available now in paperback and eBook from Penguin Books.
______________________________


Readers love The Second Murderer:
'I must congratulate Denise Mina for bravely stepping into the shoes of Raymond Chandler and continuing the tales of the much loved Philip Marlowe... I think the author has done a great job capturing the essence of Marlowe such as his duelling dialogue with other characters or his descriptions of the heat soaked LA landscape in midsummer. The Chandler sarcastic humour is also present....one line I cant seem to find but from memory was something like..." this place was so sleazy even the rats had to wipe their feet on the way out". Brilliant! I encourage all fans of the genre to read this book. It is very well written and much like Chandlers books, the descriptions are so vivid you feel you are in each scene.' Michael N., 5 stars

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2023
13 July
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
256
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House
SIZE
1.2
MB

More Books Like This

The Malfeasance Occasional The Malfeasance Occasional
2013
A Murder Too Personal (for fans of James Patterson, David Baldacci and Michael Connelly) A Murder Too Personal (for fans of James Patterson, David Baldacci and Michael Connelly)
2011
Travis McGee: Books 1-3 Travis McGee: Books 1-3
2013
White Butterfly White Butterfly
2018
Stalking The Angel Stalking The Angel
2010
Lady Rample and Cupid's Kiss Lady Rample and Cupid's Kiss
2019

More Books by Denise Mina

Conviction Conviction
2019
The End of the Wasp Season The End of the Wasp Season
2011
Still Midnight Still Midnight
2009
The Red Road The Red Road
2013
Gods and Beasts Gods and Beasts
2012
The Long Drop The Long Drop
2017

Customers Also Bought

Death of a Lesser God Death of a Lesser God
2023
Lost and Never Found Lost and Never Found
2024
Munich Wolf Munich Wolf
2024
The Stranger The Stranger
2020
The Lost Man of Bombay The Lost Man of Bombay
2022
The Fine Art of Uncanny Prediction The Fine Art of Uncanny Prediction
2023