• £0.99

Publisher Description

‘Fear the north wind. Because no one will hear you scream…’

A family is gunned down in the snow but one of the children survives. Three years on, that child takes revenge and the Snow Killer is born. But then, nothing - no further crimes are committed, and the case goes cold.

Fifty years later, has the urge to kill been reawakened? As murder follows murder, the detective team tasked with solving the crimes struggle with the lack of leads. It’s a race against time and the weather – each time it snows another person dies.

As an exhausted and grizzled DI Barton and his team scrabble to put the pieces of the puzzle together, the killer is hiding in plain sight. Meanwhile, the murders continue…

The first in a new series, Ross Greenwood has written a cracking, crackling crime story with a twist in its tale which will surprise even the most hardened thriller readers. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.

Praise for The Snow Killer

'Move over Rebus and Morse; a new entry has joined the list of great crime investigators in the form of Detective Inspector John Barton. A rich cast of characters and an explosive plot kept me turning the pages until the final dramatic twist.' author Richard Burke

'Ross Greenwood doesn’t write clichés. What he has written here is a fast-paced, action-filled puzzle with believable characters that's spiced with a lot of humour.' author Kath Middleton
‘With The Snow Killer, master of the psychological thriller genre Ross Greenwood once again proves his talent for creating engrossing and gritty novels that draw you right in and won’t let go until you’ve reached the shocking ending.’ Caroline Vincent at Bitsaboutbooks blog
What readers think of The Snow Killer: 'Absolutely brilliant!!'

'A crime novel with a social conscience.'

' It grabbed me a few pages in and wouldn't let go'

'Great stuff dripping with tension and intrigue.'

'it was so easy to get inside each characters head and it felt almost like I was part of the story'

'Ross Greenwood takes us on a journey that is both full of thrills and emotion. I absolutely loved it.'

'It was a story which gripped me from the off and kept me glued to the page right'

'The book had a feeling of authenticity about it, and was full of surprises and genuine emotion'

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2019
12 November
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
338
Pages
PUBLISHER
Boldwood Books
SIZE
1.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Livingwithaspringer ,

Fooled me

If I’d been asked to rate this book two-thirds of the way through, I’d have given it 4*. Up until then it hadn’t been a page turner and, although I wanted to read on, I wasn’t wowed by the story.

The writing style was a bit different to most books and the storyline was too. Most of the way through I thought it was no more than good.

Things changed. I thought that I knew what was going on but ultimately I was only partially right. I think I was cleverly fooled.

Most of the book is written in the past tense in the third person from the viewpoint of the police.

Some chapters, narrated by the snow killer, are in the present tense. Normally I hate reading the present tense but I thought from the start that here the author was so clever as, combined with the use of the first person, it gave real immediacy to the plot. I was made to feel as though I was there with the killer following their actions and learning their thoughts. It certainly was necessary to the plot.

I really appreciate the fact that the narrative never became gory. Another writer might have gone into unpleasant graphic detail.

Recommended.

mcm1207 ,

Brilliant! Read before the snow starts falling!

I was excited to receive a copy of Ross Greenwood's latest thriller, the first in his new DI Barton series. I really do enjoy Ross's writing style and I knew this would be a page-turner of a story - I was right to be so excited! As the title suggests, it is a chilling read and one you will not forget in a hurry - especially when it starts snowing!

I was immediately drawn into the story and quite torn with the empathy I had for the killer. But wait, the killer is the bad one in crime novels, right? We are not supposed to be on the killers side - especially when DI Barton and his team are on the trail.

DI Barton has a great team and we are introduced to them in this opening story. DI Barton himself has managed to get to where he is whilst leading a normally happy family life at home. This is a nice refreshing change to the normal detective story where have experienced trauma, divorce or addiction of some sort. He really is a good bloke.

The author cleverly switches between the past to present, only giving away details as we really need them. There are some shocking twists that will keep you turning page after page (and had me drinking mug after mug!).

Ross Greenwood is firmly on my top author list and I cannot wait to read more of DI Barton and his team.

More Books by Ross Greenwood

2020
2020
2021
2022
2021
2016

Other Books in This Series

2020
2020
2021