The Utopia of Rules

On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy

    • 3.5 • 2 Ratings
    • £10.99
    • £10.99

Publisher Description

From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives  

Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence?
 
To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber—one of our most important and provocative thinkers—traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice…though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing—even romantic—about bureaucracy.
 
Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible.
 
An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us—and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.

GENRE
Politics & Current Affairs
RELEASED
2015
24 February
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
272
Pages
PUBLISHER
Melville House
SIZE
7.9
MB

More Books by David Graeber

2018
2021
2011
2019
2013
2022

Customers Also Bought

2019
2020
2018
2009
2017
2020