• £9.99

Publisher Description

August, 1939.
Three young women watch the headlines in fear of another devastating war with Germany. A war that could force them to choose between friendship and country.

Determined to find her place in the Home Office's Air Raid Precautions Department, Nora is hopeful that they will be able to avoid another war. Meanwhile, Hazel's irrepressible optimism is disguising two closely guarded secrets from her friends. But it is Marie who has the most to fear. A German ex-pat with family living under Nazi rule, what will happen to her if war is declared?

When Germany invades Poland and tensions on the home front rise, Marie is labelled an enemy alien. Faced with a terrible choice between loyalty and patriotism, her friends must fight to keep Marie safe at any cost.

The Whispers of War is a moving and unforgettable tale of the power and strength of friendship in a time of conflict. Perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, A Woman of War and The Secret Orphan.

Praise for Julia Kelly:

'A heartbreaking romance that will grip you from the very beginning' Washington Post

'Kelly deftly balances intrigue with mystery and historical detail in her latest novel... A charming imagining of the historical gunner girls' Kirkus Review

'Kelly weaves an intricate, tender, and convincing tale of war and romance with skill and suspense' Publishers Weekly

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
January 16
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
288
Pages
PUBLISHER
Orion
SIZE
3.4
MB

More Books by Julia Kelly