• £0.99

Publisher Description

An empowering, thought-provoking feminist novel that will change the way you see the world. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Day, Claire Fuller and Joanna Cannon.

1968. Veronica Moon, a junior photographer for a local newspaper, is frustrated by her (male) colleagues' failure to take her seriously. And then she meets Leonie on the picket line of the Ford factory at Dagenham. So begins a tumultuous, passionate and intoxicating friendship. Leonie is ahead of her time and fighting for women's equality with everything she has. She offers Veronica an exciting, free life at the dawn of a great change.

Fifty years later, Leonie is gone, and Veronica leads a reclusive life. Her groundbreaking career was cut short by one of the most famous photographs of the twentieth century.

Now, that controversial picture hangs as the centrepiece of a new feminist exhibition curated by Leonie's niece. Long-repressed memories of Veronica's extraordinary life begin to stir. It's time to break her silence, and step back into the light.

Praise for The Woman in the Photograph:

'Imaginative and moving novel - a must-read for any feminist'
Katie Fforde

'I absolutely loved The Woman in the Photograph, a compelling,original and thought-provoking look at feminism and the power of female friendships'
Sarah Franklin

'What a glorious combination: Stephanie's warm intelligence brought to bear on the complexities of second-wave feminism. I ate the book up'
Shelley Harris

'Refreshing and thought-provoking . . . a stirring exploration of female friendship and the fight for equality'
Carys Bray

'Brilliantly researched, thought-provoking, and written straight from the heart, this is undoubtedly Butland's best book yet'
Lancashire Evening Post

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
July 11
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bonnier Publishing Fiction
SIZE
3.8
MB

More Books by Stephanie Butland