• £3.99

Publisher Description

The daughter who nobody wanted learns the truth about the mother she never knew. A page-turning, heart-breaking mystery 'full of surprises ... this is a classic whodunit' (Scotsman).

Cal McGill is a unique investigator and oceanographer who uses his expertise to locate things - and sometimes people - lost or missing at sea.

His expertise could unravel the haunting mystery of why, twenty-six years ago on a remote Scottish beach, Megan Bates strode out into the cold ocean and let the waves wash her away.

Megan's daughter, Violet Wells, was abandoned as a baby on the steps of a local hospital just hours before the mother she never knew took her own life.

As McGill is drawn into Violet's search for the truth, he encounters a coastal community divided by obsession and grief, and united only by a conviction that its secrets should stay buried...

Praise for The Woman Who Walked into the Sea:

'An always entertaining and gripping mystery ... Infinitely better written than the majority of its competitors'

'A classic whodunit. A mystery from the school of Ruth Rendell, and I can't imagine anyone who likes those not delighting in this' Scotsman

'Cal McGill is a triumph ... a wonderfully unique creation' crimefictionlover.com

'Simply intoxicating' Library Journal

Praise for The Sea Detective:

'Raises the bar for Scottish crime fiction ... elegantly written and compelling' Scotsman

'Promises to be a fine series of detective novels' Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month

'Excellent' Literary Review - top five crime books of the year

'A compelling protagonist' The Times Literary Supplement

Crime & Thrillers
14 January
Penguin Books Ltd

Customer Reviews

Mischa's ma ,

The Woman Who Walked Into The Sea.

Another brilliant thriller from the pen of Mark Douglas Home. Well written, evenly paced, with lots of twists and turns. Exceptional character studies, set in immersive surroundings. Excellent 2nd book, looking forward to the 3rd in the series.

More Books by Mark Douglas-Home

Other Books in This Series