This is the Night They Come For You

A TIMES THRILLER OF THE YEAR

    • 4.0 • 30 Ratings
    • £2.99
    • £2.99

Publisher Description

From the author of the BBC 2 Between the Covers hit, The Fine Art of Invisible Detection

'Truly ingenious' The Tablet
Goddard sprinkles head-turning double-crossing with delightful by-play between his two leads' The Times
'Fast-paced, beautifully crafted with some excellently drawn characters... engages from start to finish' Choice Magazine
'Goddard writes amazing novels of mystery/suspense. His new one is magical and the title is simply the best' Stephen King
__________________

On a stifling afternoon at Police HQ in Algiers, Superintendent Taleb, coasting towards retirement, with not even an air-conditioned office to show for his long years of service, is handed a ticking time bomb of a case which will take him deep into Algeria's troubled past and its fraught relationship with France.

To his dismay, he is assigned to work with Agent Hidouchi, an intimidating representative of the country's feared secret service, who makes it clear she intends to call the shots. They are instructed to pursue a former agent, now on the run after twenty years in prison for his part in a high-level corruption scandal. But their search will lead them inexorably towards a greater mystery, surrounding a murder that took place in Paris more than fifty years ago.

Uncovering the truth may be his responsibility, but Taleb is well aware that no-one in Algeria wants to be reminded of the dark deeds carried out in the struggle for independence - or in the violence that has racked the nation since. Before long, he will face a choice he has long sought to avoid, between self-preservation and doing the right thing.

And, ultimately, the choice may not even be his to make.

A pulse-pounding, breathless crime thriller, perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz's Hawthorne series, Robert Galbraith's Cormoran Strike series and LJ Ross's Alexander Gregory thrillers.


The new novel from Robert Goddard, THE FINE ART OF UNCANNY PREDICTION, is available for pre-order now.
________________________________


Praise for Robert Goddard

'The world's greatest storyteller'
Guardian
'One of the finest crime writer of any generation' Daily Mail
'Our finest practitioner of double-crossing plotting' Mick Herron

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2022
24 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
432
Pages
PUBLISHER
Transworld
SIZE
1.5
MB

Customer Reviews

JonnieaRon ,

A thrilling and witty read.

Just read this book. It is both an enjoyable read and an excellent insight into French-Algerian history. I knew nothing of this until I read it.It’s a real-eye opener.Excellent. I have read some of the author’s other books and found them somewhat underwhelming. But glad I read this.

More Books Like This

2018
2020
2009
2015
2011
2015

More Books by Robert Goddard

2012
2013
2010
2018
2014
2021

Customers Also Bought

2023
2021
2022
2021
2023
2022