Under a Wartime Sky Under a Wartime Sky

Under a Wartime Sky

    • £3.99
    • £3.99

Publisher Description

Under a Wartime Sky is an enthralling historical novel by Liz Trenow, based on real-life events at a top-secret wartime research station. Telling the story of the heroes behind the discovery of radar, it’s perfect for readers of Kate Furnivall and Rachel Hore.

Bawdsey Manor holds a secret.

1936: the threat of war hangs over Europe. Churchill gathers the brightest minds in Britain at a grand house in Suffolk. Bound to complete secrecy, they work together on an invention that could mean victory for the Allies. Among them is Vic, a gifted but shy physicist who, for the first time, feels like he belongs.

Local girl Kathleen wants to do more than serving tea and biscuits to ‘do her bit’. So when the Bawdsey team begin to recruit women to operate their top secret system, she dedicates herself to this life-or-death work. Kath and Vic form an unlikely friendship as the skies over Britain fill with German bombers. Little does Kath know just whose life she will change forever, one fateful night . . .

Based on the real history of Bawdsey Manor, Under a Wartime Sky is a novel about courage, belonging and hope.

Praise for Liz Trenow:
‘The characters shine . . . Fabulous’ - Dinah Jefferies
‘It was a wrench to put the book down after the last beautifully written page’ - Gill Paul
‘Trenow’s exquisite novel puts a real focus on the characters’ journeys’ - Woman

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2020
20 February
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pan Macmillan
SIZE
1.1
MB

More Books by Liz Trenow

The Last Telegram The Last Telegram
2012
The Perfect Treat: Heart-warming Short Stories for Winter Nights The Perfect Treat: Heart-warming Short Stories for Winter Nights
2012
The Forgotten Seamstress The Forgotten Seamstress
2013
The Poppy Factory The Poppy Factory
2014
The Dressmaker of Draper's Lane The Dressmaker of Draper's Lane
2019
The Silk Weaver The Silk Weaver
2017

Customers Also Bought

The Air Raid Girls at Christmas The Air Raid Girls at Christmas
2021
The Courtyard The Courtyard
2012
One Cornish Summer One Cornish Summer
2018
A Beautiful Spy A Beautiful Spy
2021
The Spitfire Girls Fly for Victory The Spitfire Girls Fly for Victory
2020
The Returning Tide The Returning Tide
2017