• £5.99

Publisher Description

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!

UNDER THE EAGLE is the gripping first novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling EAGLES OF THE EMPIRE series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. Praise for Simon Scarrow's compelling novels: 'Gripping and moving' The Times

AD 42, Germany. Tough, brutal and unforgiving. That's how new recruit Cato is finding life in the Roman Second Legion. He may have contacts in high places, but he could really use a friend amongst his fellow soldiers right now.

Cato has been promoted above his comrades at the order of the Emperor and is deeply resented by the other men. But he quickly earns the respect of his Centurion, Macro, a battle-hardened veteran as rough and ready as Cato is quick-witted and well-educated. They are poles apart, but soon realise they have a lot to learn from one another.

On a campaign to Britannia - a land of utter barbarity - an enduring friendship begins. But as they undertake a special mission to thwart a conspiracy against the Emperor they rapidly find themselves in a desperate fight to survive...

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2008
September 4
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
448
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SIZE
4.4
MB

Customer Reviews

BeachedWhale45 ,

Brilliant

Cannot praise Scarrow enough. His Eagle series have provided me with many years of enjoyment and they will continue to do so for many years more. Macro and Cato are an excellent pair of characters, an ideal mix of brawn and brain, of resilience and sensitivity. Excitedly awaiting the next book. This novel is an excellent first novel, would recommend to anyone who wants an exciting introduction into ancient Roman military history. Great stuff.

Anter Celer et Audax ,

A great start to a series!

Fast paced and full of detail, Simon Scarrow has wound a web with the saga of Cato and Macro. The first book in the series, it certainly encourages the reader to follow the paths of the Roman Soldiers. Now, to buy the next in the series . . . .

DLCdisaster ,

Brilliant!

Great read. The characters are diverse and interesting, the story is well paced and the balance of history/fiction makes for an easy read. If you like Game of Thrones, Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden etc you will enjoy this!

More Books by Simon Scarrow

Other Books in This Series