Publisher Description

"Sexy, unusual, and vastly entertaining. The best historical romance I've read this year."

~ Anna Campbell, author of the Dashing Widows series

"A ridiculously wonderful story!"

~ NetGalley reviewer

On her 25th birthday, Charlotte Appleby receives an unusual gift: the ability to change shape.

Penniless and orphaned, she sets off for London to make her fortune as a man. But a position as secretary to Lord Cosgrove proves unexpectedly challenging. Someone is trying to destroy Cosgrove and his life is increasingly in jeopardy.

As Charlotte plunges into London’s backstreets at Cosgrove’s side, hunting his persecutor, she finds herself fighting for her life—and falling in love…

"The best historical romance I have read all year."

~ Rachel @ Heroes & Heartbreakers

"THIS IS SO FUN. I want to grab people on the street and make them read it!"

~ Goodreads reviewer

Length: Full-length novel of 94,000 words

Sensuality level: A hot Regency romance with steamy love scenes

Q & A with the author

How would you describe this series?

It's Regency England with a dash of magic. I hope to take readers on a journey from the glittering ballrooms of the aristocracy to the dark underbelly of Regency England – with passion, danger, adventure, romance, and a little magic thrown into the mix.

Why did you write this series?

I wanted to get my well-bred heroines out of the drawing rooms and put them in the way of adventure and romance. But I didn’t want to write a series where magic is common; I wanted to write a series where only a few characters have magic, and it’s a deep, dark secret, and no one else knows.

How would you describe your writing?

Several reviewers have likened my writing to Georgette Heyer, which is the hugest compliment ever. I adore Georgette Heyer! She’s why I write historical romance, and I reread her books over and over. (If you’ve not read The Grand Sophy, please do so!) I’ve also had readers compare my writing to Courtney Milan and Mary Balogh, which are also massive compliments.

Who would like this series?

This series will appeal to readers who enjoy the historical backdrop of Georgette Heyer and Jane Austen, the emotion of Mary Balogh and Courtney Milan, and the magic of Patricia Rice and Mary Robinette Kowal. Quite a broad range, really!

What order should I read the series in?

Each book, whether a novel or novella, can be read as a standalone, but many readers prefer to read them in order. And although the series is set in Regency England, a quartet of medieval novellas form the prequel.

The ideal reading order would be:

The Fey Quartet (series prequel)

Maythorn’s Wish

Hazel’s Promise

Ivy’s Choice

Larkspur’s Quest

The Baleful Godmother series

Unmasking Miss Appleby

Resisting Miss Merryweather

Trusting Miss Trentham

Claiming Mister Kemp

Ruining Miss Wrotham

Discovering Miss Dalrymple

Plus three more interlinked Baleful Godmother series to come.

Happy reading!

November 7
Emily Larkin

Customer Reviews

Lynne70 ,

Wonderful different story

This is the first book in this genre I have read not sure I believe in fairies but have lots of celt blood so maybe.
The story is lovely it's about a girl whose father dies and she is sent to live with an uncle and aunt who spend her money and mistreat her.She is visited by a fairy on her birthday who gives her a wish she uses this wish to escap.
That's all I'm saying buy and read the book it's well written and got twists and turns and is very well worth your time and money I enjoyed it so much I have just purchased more by this talented author and believe me I am hard to please


Unmasking Miss Appleby

I received a free copy of this book in return for an honest review.
This is one of the most unusual books I have ever read. A heroine who could metamorphose at will. I loved it. The earl was believable and his problems were real however the cause of those problems was a surprise right to the end of the book and it was not obvious. Meanwhile the secret ability of the earls secretary meant that he could help find the perpetrator without being caught.
A great piece of imagination in a very well written book. I look forward to reading more by this author.

More Books by Emily Larkin

Other Books in This Series