• £2.49

Publisher Description

In just a few heartbreaking days, Lexy Shaw's world has fallen apart. After her mother is killed in a tragic hit-and-run, her mother's childhood guardian, Ursula, also dies suddenly, leaving everything to Lexy. But as Lexy reads through Ursula's hidden papers, what she discovers raises doubts about her own identity and if she really is now all alone in the world.

Desperate to find out if she has any surviving family, Lexy travels to Africa hoping she can unravel the mystery she's now tormented by, only to find that she's stumbled into a past full of lies and deceit and that her life is in grave danger.

Winner of the Sunday Mail Fiction Competition 2015

"Part detective thriller, part emotional journey, Ursula's Secret is a highly enjoyable and intelligent adventure that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Maggie O'Farrell. A very promising debut."
SOPHIE COOKE, author of The Glass House

"Lovely straightforward and absorbing story telling of complex lives and a secret that spans decades and continents."
ISLA DEWAR, author of Dancing in a Distant Place

"The complex story accelerates to a dramatic denouement that leaves Lexy enlightened and chastened, and on the verge of a new phase in her life, and leaves the reader wholly satisfied with Wilson's adept, sympathetic and colourful storytelling."
MORAG JOSS, award-winning author of the Sara Selkirk novels

'Ursula's Secret is packed full of tension, questions, problems, secrecy and intrigue right until the concluding chapter.'
EMMA CROWLEY, Shaz’s Book Blog

'This book is filled with twist after twist, secret after secret which will keep you guessing right to the end.'
PORTOBELLO BOOK BLOG

'I was completely captured from the beginning of Ursula’s Secret, enveloped in the mystery and memories of Ursula and the beauty of her home. With it’s ‘smiling’ staircase and Lexy’s obvious wonder I was lost to the tale and it’s descriptive content… I loved this read.'
**** TRACY SHEPHARD, Postcard Reviews Blog

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2015
October 15
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Black & White Publishing
SIZE
1.1
MB

More Books by Mairi Wilson