Victory in the Desert

The Eighth Army from Alam Halfa to Tunis 1942-1943

    • £3.99
    • £3.99

Publisher Description

The end of beginning… An epic conflict

North Africa was a turning point for the British in the Second World War: a harsh landscape of sand and enemy tanks, but ultimately a place of victory, that Churchill famously called ‘the end of the beginning.’

When General Montgomery became commander of the Allied Eighth Army in 1942, he found the troops dispirited after a series of defeats by his nemesis, General Rommel. However, under Monty’s inspired leadership the army turned their fortunes around, going on to win seven battles and driving the enemy out of North Africa.

However, little credit has been attributed to the Eighth Army for its victories, and even the legendary Battle of El Alamein has been consistently underrated. This highly informed and gripping account brings to light how the troops, and their leaders, won these decisive battles, and helped to win the war.

Lucid and accessible, this masterly account is vital reading for all enthusiasts of military history. Perfect for readers of Jonathan Dimbleby and Max Hastings.

GENRE
History
RELEASED
2022
11 April
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
378
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SIZE
817
KB

More Books by Adrian Stewart

2021
2006
2020
2018
2016
2015