We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It

We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It

A Memoir of My Irish Boyhood

    • £5.99
    • £5.99

Publisher Description

“You don’t have to be Irish to cherish this literary gift—just being human and curious and from a family will suffice.” —Malachy McCourt, New York Times bestselling author of A Monk Swimming

In the tradition of Frank McCourt’s Angela’s Ashes and Alice Taylor’s To School Through the Fields, Tom Phelan’s We Were Rich and We Didn’t Know It is a heartfelt and masterfully written memoir of growing up in Ireland in the 1940s.

Tom Phelan, who was born and raised in County Laois in the Irish midlands, spent his formative years working with his wise and demanding father as he sought to wrest a livelihood from a farm that was often wet, muddy, and back-breaking.

It was a time before rural electrification, the telephone, and indoor plumbing; a time when the main modes of travel were bicycle and animal cart; a time when small farmers struggled to survive and turkey eggs were hatched in the kitchen cupboard; a time when the Church exerted enormous control over Ireland.

We Were Rich and We Didn’t Know It recounts Tom’s upbringing in an isolated, rural community from the day he was delivered by the local midwife. With tears and laughter, it speaks to the strength of the human spirit in the face of life’s adversities.

GENRE
Biography
RELEASED
2019
5 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
224
Pages
PUBLISHER
Gallery Books
SIZE
4.3
MB

More Books Like This

A Childhood A Childhood
2022
The Green Fool The Green Fool
2001
High, Wide and Lonesome High, Wide and Lonesome
2011
Roots - A Life in Review Roots - A Life in Review
2012
The Road To Nab End The Road To Nab End
2012
Nothing Too Good for a Cowboy Nothing Too Good for a Cowboy
1979

More Books by Tom Phelan

Lies the Mushroom Pickers Told Lies the Mushroom Pickers Told
2015
The Canal Bridge The Canal Bridge
2014

Customers Also Bought

Small Things Like These Small Things Like These
2021
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
2019
This Tender Land This Tender Land
2019
The Nature of Fragile Things The Nature of Fragile Things
2021
The Indigo Girl The Indigo Girl
2017
The Magnolia Palace The Magnolia Palace
2022