Where Hidden Souls Lie Where Hidden Souls Lie
Book 20 - Detectives Kane and Alton

Where Hidden Souls Lie

An absolutely heart-stopping and completely gripping serial killer thriller

    • 4.8 • 30 Ratings
    • £2.99
    • £2.99

Publisher Description

As she opens her eyes and takes in the dark, damp earth, her heart races. She tries to move but the rope binding her feet cuts tight—she’s trapped underground. Heavy footsteps pace above. A tear falls down her cheek as she stifles a scream. He’s walking away. He’s left her for dead…


When a shallow grave is discovered in the dark pine forest surrounding Black Rock Falls, Sheriff Jenna Alton rushes to investigate. After unearthing the old bones, Jenna scours the area for clues: and her heart beats wildly when she bumps into a teenage girl, breathless and covered in dirt. Wanda Beauchamp tells Jenna she was kidnapped from her foster home and buried alive. Could the kidnapper be linked to the shallow grave?   


Taking in Wanda’s thin frame, Jenna knows the poor girl is close to death. She’ll do everything she can to save her, but they’re miles from anywhere and night is falling fast. When Wanda falls, the kidnapper makes his move and Jenna is powerless to stop him taking the young girl’s life. Escaping the same fate, she is wracked with guilt and vows to catch the ruthless killer and bring him to justice. 


When another girl is reported missing from a foster home, Jenna and her deputy David Kane know they must act fast to save her. Jenna believes the murderer lives off-grid, and a clue at a local supply store finally leads her to a remote cabin in the woods. 


Still haunted by Wanda’s last moments, can Jenna lay a trap to outsmart this twisted killer preying on young girls? Or did she just put herself in unthinkable danger?


This absolutely gripping crime thriller is perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot. From USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author D.K. Hood, Where Hidden Souls Lie will have you gasping for breath! 



**Each Kane and Alton book can be read as part of the series or as a standalone**


What readers are saying about Where Hidden Souls Lie

Oh wow, I can’t say enough about this one!! So good!! Literally had me guessing until the reveal… Captivated.” Sip_andread, 5 stars


“Incredibly intense. I was on edge and at one point I wanted to ‘do a Joey’ and put my book in the freezer… Edge-of-your-seat, heart pounding stuff!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Will grab you from the first… Full of suspense and twists… I couldn’t put this one down… A must-read.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


“Had some of the most intense scenes I can recall of any of the books in the series. A twist you won’t see coming… Hold onto your hats, folks, this one will keep you in suspense until the very end.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Gripping thriller in this very addictive series… Scenes to keep you turning pages way into the night.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“Absolutely positively this needs to be on all mystery and thriller must-read lists!... I read it slowly as I did not want it to end.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


Keeps readers wanting more with each book and doesn’t hold back, with each turn of the page, you get pulled into the story… Non-stop action and twists and turns that seem to come out of nowhere.” @spookysmazeofbooks, 5 stars


Powerful and captivating… will keep readers on the edge of their seats… Thrilling.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Excellent page-turner.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2023
11 October
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
355
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SIZE
5.4
MB

Customer Reviews

pm meadows ,

Where hidden souls lie

Wow!! What a read, read book in 2 days !! Just brilliant keeps you captivated

More Books Like This

The Detectives Kane and Alton Series: Books 7–9 The Detectives Kane and Alton Series: Books 7–9
2021
The Detectives Kane and Alton Series: Books 1–3 The Detectives Kane and Alton Series: Books 1–3
2019
Reckoning Reckoning
2022
The Boy The Boy
2016
Clean Break Clean Break
2022
Last Seen Alive Last Seen Alive
2022

More Books by D.K. Hood

Eyes Tight Shut Eyes Tight Shut
2024
Don't Tell a Soul Don't Tell a Soul
2017
Bring Me Flowers Bring Me Flowers
2018
A Song for the Dead A Song for the Dead
2024
Where Angels Fear Where Angels Fear
2019
Follow Me Home Follow Me Home
2018

Customers Also Bought

My Child is Missing My Child is Missing
2023
Face Her Fear Face Her Fear
2024
Close Her Eyes Close Her Eyes
2023
The Innocent Wife The Innocent Wife
2022
Her Dying Secret Her Dying Secret
2024
Local Girl Missing Local Girl Missing
2022

Other Books in This Series

A Song for the Dead A Song for the Dead
2024
Eyes Tight Shut Eyes Tight Shut
2024
Don't Look Back Don't Look Back
2022
Lose Your Breath Lose Your Breath
2021
Don't Tell a Soul Don't Tell a Soul
2017
Bring Me Flowers Bring Me Flowers
2018