Publisher Description

The case was closed. Until people started dying… The unputdownable first DI Ridpath crime thriller from bestseller MJ Lee

A killer in total control. A detective on the edge. A mystery that HAS to be solved.

DI Thomas Ridpath was on the up in the Manchester CID: a promising young detective whose first case involved capturing a notorious serial killer. But ten years later he’s recovering from a serious illness and on the brink of being forced out of the police. Then people start dying: tortured, murdered, in an uncanny echo of Ridpath’s first case.

As the investigation intensifies, old bodies go missing, records can’t be found and the murder count grows. Caught in a turf war between the police and the coroner’s office, digging up skeletons some would rather forget, Ridpath is caught in a race against time: a race to save his career, his marriage… And lives.

When a detective goes missing everything is on the line. Can Ridpath close the case and save his colleague?

WHERE THE TRUTH LIES is a nail-biting crime thriller, full of breathtaking twists and turns in this fast-paced and extraordinarily original novel. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Faith Martin

Crime & Thrillers
October 22

Customer Reviews

36Holmpaek ,

Where the Truth Lies


Livingwithaspringer ,

4.5* rounded up

This book was quick and easy to read, written in a ‘chatty’ style which I really liked.
The story, over all, was very good but a couple of things did spoil it for me.
There were unpleasant descriptions of torture and in PMs which were borderline acceptable to me but only because they were brief and there weren’t too many of them. I don’t think that they were necessary to the storyline.
Without giving away any of the plot, there was a location near the end of book which seemed highly implausible to me and which was where the culprit made uncharacteristic mistakes leading to his/her downfall.
So, it’s not a perfect book for me but I did enjoy it very much and finished it within two days, always a good sign!

More Books by M. J. Lee

Other Books in This Series