The Vanished Days

'An engrossing and deeply romantic novel' RACHEL HORE

    • 13,99 €
    • 13,99 €

Publisher Description

A sweeping love story set against the Jacobite revolution from much-loved, million copy bestselling author Susanna Kearsley

There are many who believe they know what happened, but they do not know the whole of it. The rumours spread, and grow, and take their hold, and so to end them I have been persuaded now to take my pen in hand and tell the story as it should be told…
 
Autumn, 1707. Old enemies from the Highlands to the Borders are finding common ground as they join to protest the new Union with England, the French are preparing to launch an invasion to carry the young exiled Jacobite king back to Scotland to reclaim his throne, and in Edinburgh the streets are filled with discontent and danger.
 
Queen Anne’s commissioners, seeking to calm the situation, have begun settling the losses and wages owed to those Scots who took part in the disastrous Darien expedition eight years earlier.
 
When Lily, the young widow of a Darien sailor, comes forward to collect her husband’s wages, her claim is challenged, and one of the men who’s assigned to examine her has only days to decide if she’s honest, or if his own feelings are making him blind to the truth, and if he’s being used as a pawn in an even more treacherous game.
 
A story of intrigue, adventure, endurance, romance…and the courage to hope.

‘Fascinating and immersive… I love a novel that deals with the many ways in which people keep their secrets’ DIANA GABALDON

‘A hugely engrossing book and a complete world created’ IAN RANKIN

‘The Vanished Days is an absolute tour de force of historical storytelling, tender and dramatic, gripping and authentic. Kearsley manages effortlessly to balance the epic sweep of the drama with telling moments of gentle characterization, all delivered in pitch-perfect style. I thoroughly enjoyed it: a perfect escape in these dark days’ JANE JOHNSON, author of The Salt Road and The Tenth Gift
 
‘An engrossing and deeply romantic novel of Scotland’s Jacobite rebellion’ RACHEL HORE

‘This novel tells of a tender love story set amid the Jacobite rebellion. For readers unfamiliar with the twists and turns of this period of Scottish history, author Kearsley provides a helpful map, along with rich details of the protagonists. Courage in this era lies not in acts of heroic daring, but in steadfast pursuit of truth and justice. Perfect for fans of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander’ WOMAN & HOME

Praise for Susanna Kearsley's books:
 
‘A thrilling, haunting and deeply romantic story powerfully told by an engaging heroine…enchanting and beautifully evoked.’
RACHEL HORE
 
'I've loved every one of her books! She has bedrock research and a butterfly's delicate touch with characters―sure recipe for historical fiction that sucks you in and won't let go!'
DIANA GABALDON, bestselling author of Outlander
 
‘A deeply-engaging romance and a compelling historical novel... a marvellous book.’
BERNARD CORNWELL
'The Vanished Days exhibits Kearsley's ability to deftly balance dual time lines to great dramatic effect, right up to the twist of an ending... this book stands on its own and will find an eager audience among fans of romantic historical fiction' Booklist

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2022
28 April
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster UK
SIZE
13.2
MB

More Books by Susanna Kearsley

2023
2021
2020
2020
2018
2016

Customers Also Bought

2021
2021
2016
2015
2020
2020