• Pre-Order
    • Expected 7 Jul 2020
    • USD 12.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and This Tender Land comes a heartfelt story about three young girls searching for adventure during the summer of 1960 from the New York Times bestselling author of Whistling in the Dark.

That summer would change us . . . forever.

The summer of 1960 was the hottest ever for Summit, Wisconsin. For kids seeking relief from the heat, there was a creek to be swum in, sprinklers to run through, and ice cream at Whitcomb's Drugstore. But for Frankie, Viv, and Biz, eleven-year-old best friends, it would forever be remembered as the summer that evil paid a visit to their small town--and took their young lives as they'd known them as a souvenir.

With a to-do list in hand, the girls set forth from their hideout to make their mark on that summer, but when one of them discovers a dead body on the Fourth of July and three patients escape from Broadhurst Mental Institution, their idyllic lives take a sinister turn. Determined to uncover long-held secrets, the girls have no idea that what they discover could cost them their lives and the ones they hold dear.

Six decades later, Biz, now a bestselling novelist, remembers that long ago summer and how it still haunts her and her lifelong friends in Every Now and Then, a story about the ties that bind us, the timelessness of grief and guilt--and the everlasting hope for redemption.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
AVAILABLE
2020
July 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
312
Pages
PUBLISHER
CROOKED LANE BOOKS
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC

More Books by Lesley Kagen