• Pre-Order
    • HUF1,890.00

Publisher Description

Breaking news: Storm clouds at the station

Every TV news viewer has seen the side effects of too much cross talk: a live debate devolves into chaos, an interviewer and her subject don’t connect on key questions and answers, a news anchor’s flow is disrupted by missed signals.

Sometimes it makes for good TV, other times it just leads to a train wreck.

Changes are afoot in the KWMT-TV newsroom, the missing presence of sports hero Mike Paycik and the blossoming of aide Jennifer Lawton, the resilience of persistent consumer advocate/investigative reporter Elizabeth “E.M.” Danniher, and the simmering resentment of egotistical news anchor Thurston Fine. The team of amateur sleuths working with Elizabeth, which includes ace videographer Diana Stendahl, is evolving, too, looping in KWMT producer Audrey Adams.

Not surprisingly, supermarket cashier Penny Czylinski, who bags all the town’s best gossip and knows a thing or two about cross talk, is the first to perceive dark clouds on the horizon not only in their small-town Sherman, Wyoming, but also in the KWMT newsroom itself. Because something big is coming, and it involves murder, and it’s closing in on KWMT.

Cross Talk, Book 11 of the Caught Dead in Wyoming series, is a smart, surprising, fast-paced cozy mystery with humor. If you like quirky characters, hints of romance and twists you won’t see coming, then you’ll love USA Today bestselling author Patricia McLinn’s page-turner.

Don't miss any of Elizabeth Danniher's Caught Dead in Wyoming adventures:

Sign Off

Left Hanging 

Shoot First 

Last Ditch

Look Live

Back Story

Cold Open

Hot Roll

Reaction Shot

Body Brace

Cross Talk (2022)

"While the mystery itself is twisty-turny and thoroughly engaging, it's the smart and witty writing that I loved the best." – Diane Chamberlain, bestselling author

"Colorful characters, intriguing, intelligent mystery, plus the state of Wyoming leaping off every page."  -- Emilie Richards, USA Today bestselling author

What readers are saying about the Caught Dead in Wyoming series:

“McLinn's mysteries set in Wyoming are addictive. The writing is excellent, the twists and turns keep the brain engaged, and Elizabeth's wry commentary keeps a smile on my face.”

“E.M.’s internal monologues are sharp, snappy and often hilarious.” 

"A terrific series with a western flair.  . . . Great characters that you would want as your friends. Smart, funny, but not perfect." 

“There's a real love for wide-open spaces in McLinn's writing, and it's a pleasure to visit the world she so beautifully creates. Can't wait for the next book(s)!”

“McLinn has created in E.M. a female protagonist who is flawed but likable, never silly or cartoonish, and definitely not made of cardboard.”

More cozy mystery from Patricia McLinn

Secret Sleuth series

Death on the Diversion

Death on Torrid Avenue

Death on Beguiling Way

Death on Covert Circle

Death on Shady Bridge

Death on Carrion Lane

If you like Patricia’s mysteries, try her romantic suspense:

The Innocence Trilogy

Proof of Innocence 

Price of Innocence

Premise of Innocence

Ride the River: Rodeo Knights (includes Caught Dead in Wyoming characters)

About the Author

Patricia McLinn is the USA Today bestselling author of nearly 60 published novels cited by readers and reviewers for wit and vivid characterization. Her books include mysteries, romantic suspense, contemporary romance, historical romance and women’s fiction. They have topped bestseller lists and won numerous awards.

She has spoken about writing from London, to Melbourne, Australia, to Washington, D.C., including being a guest-speaker at the Smithsonian.

McLinn spent more than 20 years as an editor at The Washington Post after stints as a sports writer (Rockford, Ill.) and assistant sports editor (Charlotte, N.C.). She received BA and MSJ degrees from Northwestern University.

Now living in Northern Kentucky, McLinn loves to hear from readers through her website PatriciaMcLinn.com, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter.

Crime & Thrillers
11 May
Craig Place Books

More Books by Patricia McLinn


Other Books in This Series