Bluegate Fields (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 6‪)‬

A web of scandal and deceit in Victorian London

    • 2.0 • 1 Rating
    • €2.99
    • €2.99

Publisher Description

A tidy solution to a murder makes Inspector Pitt uneasy - is there more to this case than meets the eye?

In the sixth acclaimed mystery from Anne Perry, Thomas and Charlotte Pitt must discover the truth of a young gentleman's sordid murder - or an innocent man will hang.
Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger.

'The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes' - Cleveland Plain Dealer

The naked body of an aristocratic youth turns up in the sewers beneath Bluegate Fields, one of London's most notorious slums. But Arthur Waybourne had been drowned in his bath, not in the Thames. More shocking still is the discovery that the boy had been violated and infected with syphilis before his murder. Despite Inspector Thomas Pitt's efforts to investigate the crime, the family closes ranks, leaving him to wonder what they are hiding.

All evidence points to Arthur's tutor, Jerome, as the murderer, but Pitt and his wife, Charlotte, don't believe the answer is so simple. But if not Jerome, then who? To learn the truth, Charlotte uses her familiarity with the upper classes to draw aside the curtain of lies, while Pitt defies his superior and the boy's family to follow a trail that leads him into the foulest streets of London through a web of deceit. In a race against time, Thomas and Charlotte must find the real killer to save Jerome from the hangman's noose.

What readers are saying about Bluegate Fields:

'A thought-provoking whodunit'

'Yet again Anne Perry keeps you on the edge of your seat from the first page to the last. Her knowledge of Victorian London is remarkable'

'Another winner for Anne Perry - five stars'

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2015
26 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SIZE
7.7
MB

More Books by Anne Perry

2015
2013
2013
2015
2014
2011

Customers Also Bought

2010
2010
2010
2012
2014
2016

Other Books in This Series

2015
2015
2015
2015
2014
2014