Publisher Description

Book One - The Legacy Series -
The year is 1878, and the setting is Paris, France. It’s a place of privilege and comfort for the rich, but one of heartache and struggle for the poor. Upon the death of her father, a young girl named Suzette Rousseau, is thrown from the comforts of middle-class life into the terror of homelessness on the streets of Paris. Without family or friends, she struggles to survive in a city whose rich believes she’s nothing more than the scum of the earth that should be eradicated from society.

Her journey takes her from the charity houses of St. Vincent de Paul, to the grueling life of a laundress, where she lives in squalor and filth. When her plight becomes unbearable, she is drawn like a fly into the enticing web of a sly spider, who offers her a life of luxury, comfort, and food -- but it will cost her a price.

The mistress of the most famous brothel in all of France vies for Suzette’s virtue. Blackmailed into a life of prostitution, her virginity is sold to a handsome English Lord. His jaded character is put to the test, when he meets his purchase and begins to fall in love with her innocence.

The Price of Innocence sets the stage for a life-long romance between a man and woman separated by class and circumstances. It's the first book in a series of three, entitled The Legacy Series. The newly released book two, The Price of Deception, is available now for those who care to discover the outcome of Suzette's decision and Robert's search for love.

January 15
Vicki Hopkins

More Books by Vicki Hopkins

Other Books in This Series