Rose and the Burma Sky

    • Prenotazione
    • Uscita prevista: 23 feb 2023
    • 9,99 €
    • Prenotazione
    • 9,99 €

Descrizione dell’editore

For readers of Yaa Gyasi, Esi Edugyan and Toni Morrison - gripping and intimate historical novel of a black soldier's experience in the Second World War - a rare, moving and authentic tale of love and sacrifice by the acclaimed British-Nigerian author of THE BOOK OF ECHOES.

ONE WAR, ONE SOLDIER, ONE LOVE

1939: In a village in south-east Nigeria at the brink of world, young Obi watches from a mango tree as a colonial army jeep whooshes by, filled with soldiers laughing and shouting, their buttons shining in the sun. To Obi, their promise of a smart uniform and regular wages is hard to resist, especially as he has his sweetheart Rose to impress and a family to support.

Years later, when Rose falls pregnant to another man, his young heart is shattered. As the Burma Campaign mounts, and Obi is shipped out to fight, he is haunted by the mystery of Rose's lover. When his identity comes to light, Obi's devastation leads to a tragic - and wholly unforeseeable - chain of events.

In ROSE AND THE BURMA SKY, Rosana Amaka weaves the horrors of war, the pain of unrequited love and the possibility that following your heart might not always be the best course of action. Its gritty boy's-eye view brings a spare and impassioned intensity, charging it with universal resonance and power.

GENERE
Narrativa e letteratura
DISPONIBILE
2023
23 febbraio
LINGUA
EN
Inglese
PAGINE
272
EDITORE
Transworld

Altri libri di Rosanna Amaka

2021
2020