My Name Is Maame My Name Is Maame

My Name Is Maame

    • 4,0 • 1 beoordeling
    • € 22,99

    • € 22,99

Beschrijving uitgever

THE debut of 2023. A blisteringly funny, heartbreaking novel about twenty-something British Ghanaian Maddie as she grapples with identity, love, loss, and becoming the woman she wants to be - for fans of Chewing Gum, Such a Fun Age and Queenie

***

Mum calls me Maame. It has many meanings in Twi, but in my case, it means woman.

Meet Maddie.

To her mostly-absent mum, she's Maame, the woman of the family. To her dad, she's his carer - even if he hardly recognises her. To her friends, she's the one who still lives at home, who never puts herself first.

It's time to become the woman she wants to be.

The kind who wears a bright yellow suit, says yes to after-work drinks and flirts with a thirty-something banker. Who doesn't have to google all her life choices. Who demands a seat at the table.

But to put ourselves together, sometimes we have to fall apart...

Heartbreaking, sharply funny and achingly relatable, Maame is an irresistibly fresh coming-of-age story with a heroine you'll never forget.

'Honest, warm, heart-breaking and heart-healing. It felt truly modern, yet somehow timeless. I adored it'
Nikki May, author of WAHALA

'A poignant coming-of-age tale about finding strength, hope and courage . . . Maame's quiet confidence is true to life and liberating'
Lizzie Damilola Blackburn, author of Yinka, Where is your Huzband?

(P)2023 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

GENRE
Fictie
VERTELLER
HA
Heather Agyepong
TAAL
EN
Engels
DUUR
10:09
u. min.
UITGEGEVEN
2023
14 februari
UITGEVER
Hodder & Stoughton
GROOTTE
397,5
MB

Dit hebben luisteraars ook gekocht:

Yinka, Where is Your Huzband? Yinka, Where is Your Huzband?
2022
Black Cake Black Cake
2022
Love Marriage Love Marriage
2022
The List The List
2023
Good Material Good Material
2023
The Rachel Incident : "You will love The Rachel Incident" (Gabrielle Zevin) – the international bestseller The Rachel Incident : "You will love The Rachel Incident" (Gabrielle Zevin) – the international bestseller
2023