A Thousand Ships A Thousand Ships

A Thousand Ships

Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction

    • € 5,99
    • € 5,99

Beschrijving uitgever

Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction.

Powerfully told from an all-female perspective, in A Thousand Ships, classicist and author of Divine Might, Natalie Haynes retells the story of the Trojan War – putting the women, girls and goddesses at the centre of the story.

For fans of Madeline Miller’s The Song of Achilles and Pat Barker’s The Silence of the Girls.

'With her trademark passion, wit, and fierce feminism, Natalie Haynes gives much-needed voice to the silenced women of the Trojan War'
Madeline Miller, author of Circe

This was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of them all . . .

In the middle of the night, a woman wakes to find her beloved city engulfed in flames. Ten seemingly endless years of conflict between the Greeks and the Trojans are over. Troy has fallen.

From the Trojan women whose fates now lie in the hands of the Greeks, to the Amazon princess who fought Achilles on their behalf, to Penelope awaiting the return of Odysseus, to the three goddesses whose feud started it all, these are the stories of the women embroiled in the legendary war.

'A gripping feminist masterpiece' – Deborah Frances-White, The Guilty Feminist

GENRE
Fictie en literatuur
UITGEGEVEN
2019
2 mei
TAAL
EN
Engels
LENGTE
352
Pagina's
UITGEVER
Pan Macmillan
GROOTTE
927,5
kB

Meer boeken van Natalie Haynes

De macht van godinnen De macht van godinnen
2024
Stone Blind Stone Blind
2022
De blik van Medusa De blik van Medusa
2023
Marple: Twelve New Stories Marple: Twelve New Stories
2022
Pandora's Jar Pandora's Jar
2020
De kruik van Pandora De kruik van Pandora
2022

Anderen kochten ook

The Women of Troy The Women of Troy
2021
Ariadne Ariadne
2021
Elektra Elektra
2022
Galatea Galatea
2013
The Silence of the Girls The Silence of the Girls
2018
Clytemnestra Clytemnestra
2023