The Summer House The Summer House

The Summer House

A Novel

    • € 5,99
    • € 5,99

Beschrijving uitgever

When Flossy Merrill summons her children to the beloved family beach house to celebrate their father’s eightieth birthday, both cherished memories and long-kept secrets come to light in this charming and lyrical novel from the author of The Lake Season and Mystic Summer.

Flossy Merrill has managed to—somewhat begrudgingly—gather her three ungrateful grown children from their dysfunctional lives for a summer reunion at the family’s Rhode Island beach house. Clementine, her youngest child and a young mother of two small children, has caused Flossy the most worry after enduring a tragically life-altering year. But Samuel and his partner Evan are not far behind in their ability to alarm: their prospective adoption search has just taken a heart-wrenching turn. Only Paige, the eldest of the headstrong Merrill clan, is her usual self: arriving precisely on time with her well-adapted teens. Little does her family know that she, too, is facing personal struggles of her own.

No matter. With her family finally congregated under one seaside roof, Flossy is determined to steer her family back on course even as she prepares to reveal the fate of the summer house that everyone has thus far taken for granted: she’s selling it. The Merrill children are both shocked and outraged and each returns to memories of their childhoods at their once beloved summer house—the house where they have not only grown up, but from which they have grown away. With each lost in their respective heartaches, Clementine, Samuel, and Paige will be forced to reconsider what really matters before they all say goodbye to a house that not only defined their summers, but, ultimately, the ways in which they define themselves. Featuring McKinnon’s “sharp and evocative” (Kirkus Reviews) voice, this warm-hearted novel is perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Alice Monroe.

GENRE
Fictie en literatuur
UITGEGEVEN
2017
6 juni
TAAL
EN
Engels
LENGTE
336
Pagina's
UITGEVER
Atria/Emily Bestler Books
GROOTTE
8
MB

Meer boeken van Hannah McKinnon

The Darlings The Darlings
2023
Mystic Summer Mystic Summer
2016
The Summer Club The Summer Club
2024
Message in the Sand Message in the Sand
2021
The View from Here The View from Here
2020
Sailing Lessons Sailing Lessons
2018

Anderen kochten ook

My Ex-Best Friend's Wedding My Ex-Best Friend's Wedding
2019
All the Days of Summer All the Days of Summer
2023
The Summer House The Summer House
2020
Moon Shell Beach Moon Shell Beach
2008
The Moonglow Sisters The Moonglow Sisters
2020
The Bookshop at Water's End The Bookshop at Water's End
2017