• 4,00 kr

Publisher Description

This application has the complete series of adapted stories that can be found in "Mahabharath". The stories are 

1. Bhusandi the Crow 

2. Draupadi in her Swayamvara 

3. Ekalavya 

4. Garuda 

5. Magic Crane 

6. Banasura 

7. Sakuntala

8. Satyavan Savithri

9. Urvashi

10. Abduction of Draupadi

11. Attempted Stripping

12. Final Journey

13. Game of Dice

The "Mahabharath" is an ancient Sanskrit epic and it forms an important part of the Hindu canon. The "Mahabharath" is one of the two great epics of India, the other being the "Ramayana". Besides its epic narrative of the Kurukshetra War and the fates of the Kauravas and the Pandavas, the Mahabharath contains alot of philosophical and devotional material, such as a discussion of the four "goals of life" or purusharthas. The latter are enumerated as dharma (right action), artha (purpose), kama (pleasure), and moksha (liberation)

Traditionally, the authorship of the Mahabharath is attributed to Vyasa. There have been many attempts to unravel its historical growth and compositional layers. The oldest preserved parts of the text are not thought to be appreciably older than around 400 BCE, though the origins of the story probably fall between the 8th and 9th centuries BC. The text probably reached its final form by the early Gupta period (ca. 4th c. CE). 

The Mahabharath is roughly ten times the length of the Iliad and Odyssey combined, or about four times the length of the Ramayana. W. J. Johnson has compared the importance of the Mahabharata to the Bible, the works of Shakespeare, the works of Homer, Greek drama, and the Qur'an. This presentation is beautifully illustrated and comes with a standard voice.

Professional & Technical
January 8

More Books by Tidels