The Map of Time and The Turn of the Screw

    • 65,00 kr
    • 65,00 kr

Publisher Description

An epic, ambitious and page-turning mystery that will appeal to fans of The Shadow of the Wind, Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell and The Time Traveller’s Wife

London, 1896. Andrew Harrington is young, wealthy and heartbroken. His lover Marie Kelly was murdered by Jack the Ripper and he longs to turn back the clock and save her.

Meanwhile, Claire Haggerty rails against the position of women in Victorian society. Forever being matched with men her family consider suitable, she yearns for a time when she can be free to love whom she choses.

But hidden in the attic of popular author – and noted scientific speculator – H.G. Wells is a machine that will change everything.

As their quests converge, it becomes clear that time is the problem – to escape it, to change it, might offer them the hope they need…

Reviews
‘The Map Of Time is a clever and engrossing 500-page yarn encompassing mystery, romance and murder. Just the sort of novel to see you through a holiday’ Daily Mail‘A fast-paced, exuberant story of love, murder and charlatanry … For readers who enjoy the inconsistencies inherent in Dickens’ London, the randomness of Audrey Niffenegger’s The Time Travellers’ Wife, and the clever humour of Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, this is an entertaining romp guaranteed to make you think and laugh and to keep you from your social life for hours’ Booklist (starred review)‘Strange and wonderful. Magical and smart. Félix J. Palma has done more than written a wonderful novel, he’s concocted a supernatural tour de force. Time travel, tragic love, murder and mystery all combine in what is nothing short of a surprising, satisfying and mesmerising read’ M.J. Rose, International Bestseller‘The brilliant first in a trilogy, an intriguing thriller that explores the ramifications of time travel in three intersecting narratives… Palma brings Wells and other historical figures like Joseph Merrick, the Elephant Man, plausibly to life. Susannah Clarke fans will be delighted’ Publishers Weekly(starred review)‘A marvel from beginning to end…a masterpiece!’ Qué Leer [Spain]
About the author

Félix J. Palma was born in Spain in 1968. A columnist and literary critic, his short stories have appeared in numerous publications and have earned him more than a hundred awards. The Map of Time won the prestigious University of Seville prize for literature in 2008 and will be published in more than thirty countries.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2011
9 July
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
528
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins
SIZE
3.4
MB

More Books by Félix J. Palma & Henry James

2011
2014
2012
2022
2021
2019