This Lovely City This Lovely City

This Lovely City

    • 65,00 kr
    • 65,00 kr

Publisher Description

*As seen on the new BBC TWO TV book club, Between the Covers*

Longlisted for the HWA Debut Crown Award

Indie Book of the Month for March, selected by the Booksellers Association

One of OBSERVER’S 10 best debut novelists of 2020 / WOMAN & HOME Best of 2020 / EVENING STANDARD Best books of 2020 / MAIL ON SUNDAY 2020 Highlights / I Best of 2020

* * * *

‘Full of life and love . . . it made my heart soar, and should be on every Londoner’s shelf’ Stacey Halls, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Familiars

‘The writing is wonderful; London’s energy runs right through it; the characters leap off the page. I was truly sad to leave them behind’ Adam Kay, Observer

‘Convincing and involving’ Sunday Times

‘Fans of Zadie Smith and Andrea Levy won’t want to miss Louise Hare’s enthralling debut novel’ Elle

* * *
The drinks are flowing.
The music is playing.
But the party can’t last.

With the Blitz over and London reeling from war, jazz musician Lawrie Matthews has answered England’s call for help. Fresh off the Empire Windrush, he’s taken a tiny room in south London lodgings, and has fallen in love with the girl next door. Lawrie has poured his heart into his new home – and it’s alive with possibility. Until, one morning, he makes a terrible discovery.

As the local community rallies, fingers of blame are pointed at those who had recently been welcomed with open arms. And, before long, the newest arrivals become the prime suspects in a tragedy which threatens to tear the city apart.

Atmospheric, poignant and compelling, Louise Hare’s debut shows that new arrivals have always been the prime suspects. But, also, that there is always hope.
* * *

MORE PRAISE FOR THIS LOVELY CITY:

‘I loved, loved, loved it’ Cathy Rentzenbrink, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Last Act of Love

‘Full to the brim with such complete joys and heart-aching tragedies . . . you can feel the warmth and colour emanating from the pages’ Magic Radio Book Club

About the author

Louise Hare is a London-based writer and has an MA in Creative Writing from Birkbeck, University of London. Originally from Warrington, the capital is the inspiration for much of her work, including This Lovely City, which began life after a trip into the deep level shelter below Clapham Common.

This Lovely City was featured on the inaugural BBC TWO TV book club show, Between the Covers, and has received multiple accolades, securing Louise’s place as an author to watch.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
12 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ
SIZE
1.1
MB

More Books by Louise Hare

Miss Aldridge Regrets Miss Aldridge Regrets
2022
Harlem After Midnight Harlem After Midnight
2023
Harlem After Midnight Harlem After Midnight
2023
Miss Aldridge Regrets Miss Aldridge Regrets
2022

Customers Also Bought

The 24-Hour Café The 24-Hour Café
2020
Dominicana Dominicana
2019
Sankofa Sankofa
2021
Love After Love Love After Love
2020
The Mothers The Mothers
2019
Big Girl, Small Town Big Girl, Small Town
2020