• $8.99

Publisher Description

Life for Lewrie is frustratingly quiet, but that won't last long...

1807. Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is still in Gibraltar, his schemes for raids along the coast of Southern Spain shot to a halt. He is reduced to commanding a clutch of harbour defence gunboats in the bay while his ship, HMS Sapphire, slowly grounds herself on a reef of beef bones.

But Napoleon Bonaparte’s invasion of peaceful Portugal and his so-called collaborative march into Spain change everything, freeing Sapphire to roam against the King’s enemies once more!

As kings are overthrown and popular uprisings break out all across Spain, Lewrie’s right back in the action, ferrying weapons to arm Spanish patriots, scouting within close gun range of the impregnable fort of Ceuta, escorting the advance units of British expeditionary armies to aid the Spanish, and even going ashore to witness the first battles between Sir Arthur Wellesley, later the Duke of Wellington, and Napoleon’s best Marshals, as the long Peninsular War that broke Imperial France begins to unfold.

From Cadiz to La Coruna, Lewrie and Sapphire will be there as history explodes!

Number twenty-one in the Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures, Kings and Emperors is perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Julian Stockwin and C.S. Forester.

Praise for Dewey Lambdin

'Great naval action and deep historical detail in the vein of O'Brian and Forester' Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

'You could get addicted to this series. Easily.' New York Times Book Review

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
19 October
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
517
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
1.1
MB

More Books by Dewey Lambdin

Other Books in This Series