• $0.99

Publisher Description

Ernest Hemingway was one of the most influential and important authors of the 20th Century, known for books such as The Old Man and the Sea and For Whom the Bell Tolls, and this collection compiles all of his short fiction into a single volume. It contains the class First Forty-Nine Stories plus a number of other works:

** Part I: First Forty-Nine Stories **

Stories from The Fifth Column and the First Forty-Nine Stories (1938)

The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber (1936)

The Capital of the World (1936)

The Snows of Kilimanjaro (1936)

Old Man at the Bridge (1938)

From Three Stories and Ten Poems (1923)

Up in Michigan (1923, revised 1938)

In Our Time (1925 and 1930)

On the Quai at Smyrna

Indian Camp (1924)

The Doctor and the Doctor's Wife (1925)

The End of Something (1925)

The Three-Day Blow (1925)

The Battler (1925)

A Very Short Story (1924)

Soldier's Home (1925)

The Revolutionist (1925)

Mr. And Mrs. Elliot

Cat in the Rain (1925)

Out of Season

Cross-Country Snow (1924)

My Old Man

Big Two-Hearted River, Part I (1925)

Big Two-Hearted River, Part II (1925)

Men Without Women (1927)

The Undefeated

In Another Country

Hills Like White Elephants

The Killers

Che Ti Dice La Patria?

Fifty Grand

A Simple Enquiry

Ten Indians

A Canary for One

An Alpine Idyll

A Pursuit Race

Today is Friday

Banal Story

Now I Lay Me

Winner Take Nothing (1933)

After the Storm

A Clean, Well-Lighted Place

The Light of the World

God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen

The Sea Change

A Way You'll Never Be

The Mother of a Queen

One Reader Writes

Homage to Switzerland

A Day's Wait

A Natural History of the Dead

Wine of Wyoming

The Gambler, the Nun, and the Radio

Fathers and Sons

** Part II: Short Stories Published in Books or Magazines Subsequent to the First Forty-Nine Stories **

From To Have and Have Not

One Trip Across (1934)

The Tradesman's Return (1936)

Uncollected stories published in Hemingway's lifetime

The Denunciation (1938)

The Butterfly and the Tank (1938)

Night Before Battle (1939)

Under the Ridge (1939)

Nobody Ever Dies (1939)

The Good Lion (1951)

The Faithful Bull (1951)

Get a Seeing-Eyed Dog (1957)

A Man of the World (1957)

First published in The Nick Adams Stories (1972)

Summer People

The Last Good Country

From The Garden of Eden (Novel) (1986)

An African Story

** Part III: Previously Unpublished Fiction **

A Train Trip

The Porter

Black Ass at the Crossroads

Landscape with Figures

I Guess Everything Reminds You of Something

Great News from the Mainland

The Strange Country

Ernest Hemingway was one of the most famous American writers of the 20th century. He wrote novels and short stories about outdoorsmen, expatriates, soldiers and other men of action, and his plainspoken no-frills writing style became so famous that it was (and still is) frequently parodied. Hemingway's dashing machismo was almost as famous as his writing: he lived in Paris, Cuba and Key West, fancied bullfighting and big game hunting, and served as a war correspondent in World War II and the Spanish Civil War. Ernest Hemingway sealed his own notoriety when he killed himself with a shotgun in 1961. His books include The Sun Also Rises (1926), A Farewell to Arms (1929) and his classic novel of the Spanish Civil War, For Whom the Bell Tolls (1940). His short novel The Old Man and the Sea (1952) won the Pulitzer Prize in 1953, and Hemingway was given the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1954. After his death he was buried in Ketchum Cemetery in Ketchum, Idaho, the remote town where he had a home (and where he killed himself).

Fiction & Literature
1 April
IHelp Press
Abbas Rizvi

More Books by Ernest Hemingway