The Maiden of All Our Desires The Maiden of All Our Desires

The Maiden of All Our Desires

A Novel

    • $28.99
    • $28.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Lauren Groff, Maggie O’Farrell, and Emma Donoghue, a devastating novel of love, intrigue, and community in a time of sickness that remade the world

Fourteenth-century Europe. The Black Death has killed half the known world, andin an isolated convent, a small group of nuns spends their days in work, austerity, and devotion, chanting the Liturgy of the Hours. But their community is threatened. Rumors of heresy and a scandalous Book of Ursula, based on the teachings of the charismatic former abbess and founder of the order, have prompted the male church hierarchy to launch an investigation. The priest assigned to minister to the nuns, Father Francis, who is wracked by guilt for an unspeakable crime committed during the lawless plague years, was no friend of Ursula and can't be counted on to defend the order. Disrespect and rebellion infect some novices, and the youngest among them pines for the bishop’s chief inquisitor. And Mother John, the convent’s aging spiritual leader, fears she’s losing her mind after experiencing a vision that brings back her own rebellious past.

As events unfold over the course of a single day, a blizzard that has swept across Europe will break over the convent, endangering the women there and testing their faith. In this astonishing novel, the author of the award-winning Songs for the Butcher’s Daughter explores the territory between faith and freedom, and how the horrific events of history shape individual lives.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2022
15 February
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
312
Pages
PUBLISHER
Arcade
SELLER
Simon and Schuster Australia Pty Ltd.
SIZE
2.1
MB

More Books Like This

Pope Joan Pope Joan
1996
The Lie Tree The Lie Tree
2015
The Prophet's Wife The Prophet's Wife
2022
The White Witch The White Witch
2012
The Chronicles of Aveline: Awakening The Chronicles of Aveline: Awakening
2021
Lambs of God Lambs of God
2018

More Books by Peter Manseau

The Jefferson Bible The Jefferson Bible
2020
One Nation, Under Gods One Nation, Under Gods
2015
Songs for the Butcher's Daughter Songs for the Butcher's Daughter
2010

Customers Also Bought

Queen Margot Queen Margot
2020
The Path to Somerset The Path to Somerset
2018
The Promise of the Pelican The Promise of the Pelican
2022
The Mapmaker's Daughter The Mapmaker's Daughter
2017
Jane the Quene Jane the Quene
2016
What Comes with the Dust What Comes with the Dust
2018