The Prophet's Wife The Prophet's Wife

The Prophet's Wife

A Novel of an American Faith

    • $17.99
    • $17.99

Publisher Description

A lyrical novel exploring the origins of the Mormon faith, RECOMMENDED by the New York Times Book Review.

“Superb… a first-rate historical novel” – The Denver Post

“A masterpiece … perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Geraldine Brooks” – Kris Waldherr, author of The Lost History of Dreams

In 1825, in rural Pennsylvania, Emma Hale marries an itinerant treasure-digger, a man who has nothing but a peep-stone in his pocket and a conviction that he can speak directly to God. His name is Joseph Smith and in a few short years, he will found his own religion, gather zealous adherents by the tens of thousands, and fracture Emma’s life and faith. 

While the Mormon religion finds its feet and runs beyond the grasp of its founder, Emma struggles to maintain her place in Joseph’s heart—and in the religion that has become her world. The Mormons make themselves outcasts everywhere they go. Joseph can only maintain his authority by issuing ever-stranger commandments on God’s behalf, culminating in an edict that men should marry as many women as they please. The Mormons’ adoption of polygamy only sets them further apart, and soon their communities are ravaged by violence at the hands of their outraged fellow Americans. For Emma, things take a more personal toll as Joseph brings in a new wife—a woman whom Emma considers a sister.

Emma knows there will never be peace until Joseph faces the law. But on the half-wild edge of the frontier, he’s more likely to find death at the hands of a vigilante posse than a fair trial. For the sake of her people—and her soul—Emma must convince the Prophet of God to surrender... and perhaps to sacrifice his life. 

“Probes the emotional maelstrom” – The New York Times Book Review

“Fascinating … one of the most interesting and nuanced portrayals of a marriage I’ve read in a very long time … Brilliant.” – Allison Epstein, author of A Tip for the Hangman

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2022
1 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
480
Pages
PUBLISHER
William Morrow Paperbacks
SELLER
HarperCollins Publisher Australia Pty Limited
SIZE
3.6
MB

More Books Like This

The Oak Apple The Oak Apple
2011
The White The White
2002
Into the Wilderness Into the Wilderness
2012
The Silence of Strangers The Silence of Strangers
2011
A Kingdom for the Brave A Kingdom for the Brave
2011
Green Darkness Green Darkness
2015

Customers Also Bought

Fellowship Point Fellowship Point
2022
Sold on a Monday Sold on a Monday
2018
The Second Mrs. Astor The Second Mrs. Astor
2021
The Indigo Girl The Indigo Girl
2017
The Personal Librarian The Personal Librarian
2021
The Magnolia Palace The Magnolia Palace
2022