• $8.99

Publisher Description

The fourteenth tale in Dewey Lambdin’s stirring classic naval adventure series.

Spring of 1800 and Captain Alan Lewrie, fresh from victory in the South Atlantic, is reckoned a hero on a par with Nelson in all the papers. Back in England he is fitting out
his new frigate, HMS Savage, the largest and best armed frigate he’s ever commanded. But you can’t leave Lewrie ashore too long without trouble arising.

A Jamaican court has tried him in absentia and sentenced him to hang for the theft of a dozen slaves to man his old ship HMS Proteus. A crime, or was it liberation, as his London barrister argues? The vengeful slave owner Hugh Beauman has come to London to seek Lewrie’s end, with or without the majesty of the Law!

Then there’s the matter of those anonymous letters sent to his wife Caroline, serving up the most florid lies… along with some unfortunately florid truths. Lewrie appeals to the retired FO spy, Zachariah
Twigg
, to ‘smoak out’ the had that guides the poison pen, even while wondering while Twigg seems so eager to help his legal case of a sudden. Is the devious old devil ready to sacrifice him for some motive of his own?

Troubled Waters, book fourteen in The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures, is perfect for fans of David McDine, Bernard Cornwell and Patrick O’Brian.

‘You could get addicted to this series. Easily.’ New York Times Book Review

‘The best naval series since C. S. Forester . . . Recommended.’ Library Journal

‘Fast-moving. . . A hugely likeable hero, a huge cast of sharply drawn supporting characters: there's nothing missing. Wonderful stuff.’ Kirkus Reviews

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
July 15
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
500
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
963.4
KB

More Books by Dewey Lambdin

Other Books in This Series