• 189,99 zł

Publisher Description

A collection of seven timeless classics from one of the greatest fantasy writers of all time.

For the first time, seven fantastic novels by Alan Garner are published together in this classic collection: THE WEIRDSTONE OF BRISINGAMEN, THE MOON OF GOMRATH, ELIDOR, THE OWL SERVICE, RED SHIFT, LAD OF THE GAD, A BAG OF MOONSHINE.

Alan Garner is an award-winning writer of great distinction. Readers young and old have been enthralled by Alan’s writing for over 50 years. Following publication of his debut novel, The Weirdstone of Brisingamen (1960), reviewers hailed Alan Garner as an exciting and important new voice:

‘The suspense is superb. Mr Garner has written a grand tale that may well be read a hundred years hence as eagerly as it is read now.’ Scotsman

‘Absolutely first class. Well written, well told, it mixes legend, fact and fairy tale.’ Manchester Evening News


Praise for The Moon of Gomrath: ‘Not only powerful but full of wild and whirling adventure… the reader is drawn right into the midst of it all.’ Guardian

Praise for The Weirdstone of Brisingamen: ‘Marvellously exciting… Alan Garner is at his best writing of night and dark water… the story is ferocious and deeply felt.’ New Statesman

Praise for The Owl Service: ‘Not meant only for children… The power grows, throbs nearer, builds to unbearable tension, and comes to wild release in the last few pages.’ The Guardian

Praise for Red Shift: ‘A magnificently multilayered novel… and a superbly exciting piece of literature.’ The Times

About the author

Alan Garner was born and still lives in Cheshire, an area which has had a profound effect on his writing and provided the seed of many ideas worked out in his books.

His fourth book, ‘The Owl Service’ brought Alan Garner to everyone’s attention. It won two important literary prizes – The Guardian Award and the Carnegie Medal – and was made into a serial by Granada Television. It has established itself as a classic and Alan Garner as a writer of great distinction.

September 10

More Books by Alan Garner