The Only Woman in the Photo

Frances Perkins & Her New Deal for America

    • 57,99 zł
    • 57,99 zł

Publisher Description

Discover the incredible life of Frances Perkins, the first woman to serve in a presidential cabinet and the mastermind behind Franklin D. Roosevelt’s New Deal, in this fascinating picture book biography that’s perfect for fans of I Dissent.

Most people know about President FDR, but do you know the woman who created his groundbreaking New Deal?

As a young girl, Frances Perkins was very shy and quiet. But her grandmother encouraged Frances to always challenge herself. When somebody opens a door to you, go forward.

And so she did.

Frances realized she had to make her voice heard, even when speaking made her uncomfortable, and use it to fight injustice and build programs to protect people across the nation. So when newly-elected President Franklin Delano Roosevelt finally asked Frances to be the first female Secretary of Labor and help pull the nation out of the Great Depression, she knew she had to walk through that open door and forward into history.

In this empowering, inspirational biography, discover how the first woman to serve in a presidential cabinet led the charge to create the safety net that protects American workers and their families to this day.

GENRE
Kids
RELEASED
2020
4 February
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
48
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atheneum Books for Young Readers
SIZE
36.6
MB

More Books by Kathleen Krull

2020
2020
2020
2019
2019
2018