F Marion Crawford - A Short Story Collection: Well travelled American author Crawford studied at Cambridge, Rome, Harvard, Heidelberg and others, his travels and knowledge of cultures helped shape his incredible short stories‪.‬

    • 75,00 kr

    • 75,00 kr

Utgivarens beskrivning

Francis Marion Crawford, an only child, was born on 2nd August 1854 at Bagni di Lucca, Italy. He was a nephew to Julia Ward Howe, the American poet and writer of ‘The Battle Hymn of the Republic’.
Crawford was educated at St Paul's School, Concord, New Hampshire and then on to Cambridge University, the University of Heidelberg and the University of Rome.

In 1879 he went to India, to study Sanskrit and then to edit The Indian Herald. In 1881 he returned to America to continue his Sanskrit studies at Harvard University.

His family became increasingly concerned about his employment prospects. After an attempt at a singing career as a baritone was ruled out, he was encouraged to write.

In December 1882 his first novel, ‘Mr Isaacs’, was published and was an immediate hit as was his second novel ‘Dr Claudius’ in 1883.

In October 1884 he married Elizabeth Berdan and encouraged by his excellent start to a literary career they returned to Sant Agnello, Italy to make a permanent home, buying the Villa Renzi that then became Villa Crawford.

In the late 1890s, Crawford began work on his historical works which would later include ‘Corleone’, in 1897, the first major treatment of the Mafia in literature.

Crawford is also exceedingly popular and anthologized as a short story writer of bizarre and creepy tales.

Francis Marion Crawford died at Sorrento on Good Friday 1909 at Villa Crawford of a heart attack.

01 - F Marion Crawford - An Introduction

02 - The Dead Smile by F Marion Crawford

03 - The Screaming Skull by F Marion Crawford

04 - Man Overboard by F Marion Crawford

05 - For the Blood is the Life by F Marion Crawford

06 - The Upper Berth by F Marion Crawford

Richard Mitchley
tim min
1 januari
The Copyright Group