• 19,00 kr

Utgivarens beskrivning

A series of poisoned pilgrims requires the services of Canterbury's most intrepid sleuth..
.
Paul Doherty introduces his medieval sleuth Kathryn Swinbrooke for the first time in A Shrine of Murders, the first in a gripping mystery series from the acclaimed historical novelist. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susanna Gregory.

A serial killer haunts 15th-century Canterbury. Kathryn Swinbrooke is an independent practitioner of medicine, discovering the benefits of an apple-rich diet for teeth, and prescribing herbs and vinegar for almost every known malady. Canterbury's tourist trade, already jeopardized by the War of the Roses, is further imperilled by a spate of poisoned pilgrims, each corpse accompanied by the appearance of a line or two of rough verse, in style remarkably similar to Geoffrey Chaucer's soon-to-be famous work. Suspecting the murderer is a doctor, the Archbishop asks for Kathryn's help. In a fascinating hunt that pits her against the august town physicians, Kathryn is aided only by her wits, her foul-mouthed, warm-hearted servant Thomasina, and Colum Murtagh, a powerful Irish mercenary.

What readers are saying about A Shrine of Murders:
'This is well researched, well written and a good story to curl up with on a dark winter's evening'
'Paul Doherty is a superb writer'
'Superb plot and characters. Kathryn is so interesting and insight into the history of the time is so well documented. You feel as if you were there and can even smell it!'

GENRE
Skönlitteratur
UTGIVEN
2013
6 juni
SPRÅK
EN
Engelska
LÄNGD
172
Sidor
UTGIVARE
Headline
STORLEK
1.4
MB

Fler böcker av Paul Doherty

Andra böcker i serien