• 49,00 kr

Utgivarens beskrivning

Longlisted for the 2021 CWA Sapere Books Historical Dagger

Some heroes search for glory, some for justice

It’s festival time in Athens, and Philocles is looking forward to the holiday. Visitors are coming from across the Hellenic world for eight days of sporting competitions, musical contests and sacred rites to honour Athena, the city’s patron goddess.

Thousands will flock to the Pnyx to be enthralled by the dramatic three-day performance of Homer’s Iliad, an entertainment unique to the Great Panathenaia. Taking part is the highest honour and greatest challenge for an epic poet. Then one of the poets is brutally murdered.

Is this random misfortune, an old score being settled, or is someone trying to sabotage the festival? The authorities want this cleared up quickly and quietly. Philocles finds himself on the trail of a killer once more…

Another thrilling ancient murder mystery novel from J.M. Alvey, perfect for fans of Lindsey Davis, Steven Saylor and CJ Sansom.

Praise for J.M. Alvey

"This is historical writing at its best and crime writing worthy of prizes. Riveting" Manda Scott, author of the Boudica series

"I loved it; great sense of place, terrific characters and a cracking plot" Joanne Harris, author of Chocolat

"As vivid and lively as a Greek wedding - but with rather more blood!" Val McDermid, author of the Kate Brannigan Mysteries

"It's about time someone did for ancient Athens what Lindsey Davis' Falco novels do for Ancient Rome. Alvey sets the scene perfectly, with easy brushstrokes and lightly worn learning. In Philocles we have an aspiring playwright, man of the people and reluctant detective. I look forward to his next case..." Jack Grimwood, author of Moskva

GENRE
Deckare och thrillers
UTGIVEN
2020
15 oktober
SPRÅK
EN
Engelska
LÄNGD
387
Sidor
UTGIVARE
Canelo
STORLEK
1,1
MB

Fler böcker av JM Alvey

Andra böcker i serien