• 39,00 kr

Utgivarens beskrivning

Maharishi Patanjali’s Essence Of Ashtang Yoga
by J.M. Mehta

In the present day world, Yoga is being propagated as a combination of physical and breathing exercises (Asana and Pranayam). 

But Ashtang Yoga is much more than that. It is a comprehensive yogic discipline which includes physical, mental and spiritual aspects. 

This book mainly deals with Ashtang Yoga founded by Maharishi Patanjali, the author of Yoga Darsan or Yoga Sutra. 

Besides, treating the subject of Yoga in a general manner, the book briefly explains the eight parts of the ancient yogic discipline, which consist of:

*Yamas and Niyamas (moral and social conduct) 

*Asana (physical postures) 

*Pranayam (regulation of breath), 

*Pratyahara (withdrawal of senses)

*Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi (inner yogic discipline).

’Ashtang`, in fact, means eight limbs or parts, hence the name, Ashtang Yoga. 

The emphasis of this Yoga is on the inner and intangible discipline which leads to the perfection or liberation of the soul  ...and this alone is the highest or the ultimate goal of human life.

About The Author:

The author, J. M. Mehta is a student of Yoga and its practitioner for several years. 

He has tried his best to compile information on the various aspects of the discipline of Yoga in this small book. 

He feels that as one grows into life, one tries to search for something and the author has felt that his search has ended in Yoga. 

In fact, the author has tried to incorporate the results of his search, i.e., Yoga and the various parts of Yoga in the book, Essence of Maharishi Patanjalis Ashtang Yoga.

The Wisdom of the Gita is also one of his popular books published by Pustak Mahal.

Kropp och själ
22 december
Pustak Mahal

Fler böcker av J. M. Mehta