• 35,00 kr

Utgivarens beskrivning

A sexy assassin, a sexy Scottish spy, and two lobsters attend a Victorian house party.

New York Times bestselling comedy of manners author Gail Carriger brings you a charming story of love and espionage set in her popular Parasolverse.

ASSASSIN

Lady Preshea Villentia, the Mourning Star, has four dead husbands and a nasty reputation. Fortunately, she looks fabulous in black. What society doesn't know is that all her husbands were marked for death by Preshea's employer. And Preshea has one final assignment.

VERSUS SCOTSMAN

It was supposed to be easy, a house party with minimal bloodshed. Preshea hadn't anticipated Captain Gavin Ruthven – massive, Scottish, quietly irresistible, and… working for the enemy.

In a battle of wits, Preshea may risk her own heart – a terrifying prospect, as she never knew she had one.

"This intoxicatingly witty parody will appeal to a wide cross-section of romance, fantasy and steampunk fans." ~ Publishers Weekly, starred review (Soulless)

May contain plaid, gentlemen eating dainty tea sandwiches, and the strategic application of leather gloves. Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Outlander in this seductive story from the author of the Parasol Protectorate books. Perfect for fans of Ilona Andrews, Lindsay Buroker, or Diana Gabaldon.

From the author of the Finishing School series, featuring deadly ladies of quality, this story stands alone but you can find out what happened to the next generation in Reticence or read the next in the series Defy or defend.

Delicate Sensibilities?

Contains men pleasing women, and ladies who know what they want and ask for it, sometimes in detail. If you like that kind of thing, you'll also enjoy How to Marry a Werewolf.

Also by Gail Carriger set in the Parasolverse

The Curious Case of the Werewolf that Wasn't

The Finishing School series (start with Etiquette & Espionage)

The Delightfully Deadly novellas

The Parasol Protectorate series (start with Soulless)

The Supernatural Society novellas

The Custard Protocol series (start with Prudence)

The Claw & Courtship novellas

As G L Carriger

The San Andreas Shifter series (start with The Sumage Solution)

The 5th Gender

GENRE
Sci-fi och fantasy
UTGIVEN
2016
21 juni
SPRÅK
EN
Engelska
LÄNGD
197
Sidor
UTGIVARE
GAIL CARRIGER LLC
STORLEK
424
KB

Kundrecensioner

Piratkatt ,

Loved it!

Witty, beautiful & sometimes a little heartbreaking.

Valeriusjka ,

❤️ I do love some steam punk romance

The best kind of present there is for bookworm like me, is when favourite author Gail Carriger surprises you with a shorter story set in the steam punk world one learned to love.
What made me connect from the beginning with her style is the fact that she chooses women to be her main characters, unapologetic strong women that know what they want to do and go ahead without caring what society says or wants them to be/do. Mind you, they do poses impecable manners which make them admirable to me. I was brought up to behave according to certain standards in behaviour towards my fellow humans, so I admire that they are as strong in them selves without letting expectations make them less than what they are.
As for Poison or Protect, it has all those lovely ingredients that I love so much about Gail's writing: the humour, the attractive Scottish gentleman and the danger to which both walk into without flinching. Best of it is how they grow in each other's company and how they learn to appreciate what they have before them.
Last but not the least, every girl should get her own Gavin. If he ever got a tv series, he would be my other tv husband, right beside Jamie Fraser.

Korpgluggen ,

Poison or Protect

A delightfully steamy novella. I poured myself a cup of tea, sat down to read and promptly forgot about the tea.

Fler böcker av Gail Carriger

Andra böcker i serien