The Essex Serpent

Now a major Apple TV series starring Claire Danes and Tom Hiddleston

    • 4,0 • 3 betyg
    • 49,00 kr
    • 49,00 kr

Utgivarens beskrivning

Now a major Apple TV series starring Claire Danes and Tom Hiddleston

THE SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER


'A blissful novel of unapologetic appetites ... here is a writer who understands life' JESSIE BURTON, author of THE MINIATURIST


London, 1893. When Cora Seaborne's controlling husband dies, she steps into her new life as a widow with as much relief as sadness. Along with her son Francis - a curious, obsessive boy - she leaves town for Essex, in the hope that fresh air and open space will provide refuge.

On arrival, rumours reach them that the mythical Essex Serpent, once said to roam the marshes claiming lives, has returned to the coastal parish of Aldwinter. Cora, a keen amateur naturalist with no patience for superstition, is enthralled, convinced that what the local people think is a magical beast may be a yet-undiscovered species.

As she sets out on its trail, she is introduced to William Ransome, Aldwinter's vicar, who is also deeply suspicious of the rumours, but thinks they are a distraction from true faith.

As he tries to calm his parishioners, Will and Cora strike up an intense relationship, and although they agree on absolutely nothing, they find themselves at once drawn together and torn apart, affecting each other in ways that surprise them both. The Essex Serpent is a thrilling and unforgettable novel of intrigue, love, and the many forms it can take.

A modern classic perfect for fans of Jessie Burton, Sarah Waters and Stacey Halls, THE ESSEX SERPENT is now a major Apple TV series starring Claire Danes and Tom Hiddleston.

GENRE
Skönlitteratur
UTGIVEN
2016
27 maj
SPRÅK
EN
Engelska
LÄNGD
523
Sidor
UTGIVARE
Profile
STORLEK
4,5
MB

Fler böcker av Sarah Perry

2017
2014
2018
2022
2019
2020

Andra kunder köpte även

2018
2020
2018
2019
2018
2020