• $19.99

Publisher Description

Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

She’s your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
AA
Andi Arndt
LENGTH
08:55
hr min
RELEASED
2017
March 21
PUBLISHER
HarperAudio
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
445.2
MB

Customer Reviews

parkjnl ,

You mean I can't give 'zero' stars??

I really wanted to like this book, I was intrigued by the movie trailers and although the plot line seemed like it would be similar to a thousand other stories, I needed something to listen to while I am working. After two hours, I stopped listening and deleted the download from my ipod. I consider myself to be open minded when it comes to non-traditional relationships but under no circumstances would I ever find the relationship between one main character and her brother ever to be acceptable. At first I thought I had misheard but kept plugging along. Several chapters later when the relationship was expounded upon, I had had enough. None of the characters are sympathetic, none of the characters are very nice and all of the characters are pretty stupid. One main character is a blogger and rambles on and on and extrapolates on things that don't need futher explanation. The writing is mundane, repetative and very juvenile. bordering on fan fiction. The plot points and clues to 'the mystery' are all laid out neatly if you're really paying attention and if you make it all the way to the end, I think you'll be disappointed that you did. The twist is obvious.

Cullensboy92 ,

Ego v. Love

Though this book was very ego driven, sometimes mindless and invoking amateur sleuthing, I think what saved it for me was Stephanie. Emily was complex but egotistical. Stephanie did have some pitfalls of “what are you doing?!” silent screaming we do to ourselves when we read books. But I think her love and compassion makes her the heroine in this book. Overall, the story sometimes was on the cliff of outlandish especially in the sociopathic nature of Emily, but Stephanie ringed the “wrong place,wrong time” bell and turned out not to be a victim, but a successor in proving wrongdoers will be brought to justice, not matter how much emotional scars you wear.

brekra ,

Not a good story line

Such a odd book.

Listeners Also Bought