• $17.99

Publisher Description

From the award-winning author of the beloved USA Today best-selling Mystic Notch series....

Discovering the 300-year-old skeleton of shipping tycoon Jedediah Biddeford in the ballroom wall is a big old hassle for Josie Waters, owner of the Oyster Cove Guesthouse. Especially when Biddeford’s descendants turn up, certain that a family legend about treasure buried nearby must be true. 

Josie is too busy dreaming up the perfect cake for the Oyster Cove’s 250th anniversary celebration to worry about the Biddeford family - plus half the town - digging up her yard...until one of her guests is murdered in the guesthouse garden. 

With worries that her guesthouse will get a reputation for being the kind of place you only leave in a body bag, Josie must put her detective skills to work to find the killer. Lucky for her, Nero and Marlowe and their gang of cat sleuths are also on the case. 

From the old wharf, to the town common, to the guesthouse itself with its many nooks and crannies, the cats are sure to sniff out the killer...but can they help Josie stop the person behind the mysterious murder before they strike again? 

A fantastic pause-resister from a best-selling author, purrfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Adele Abbott, cat lovers, and everyone in between!

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
NARRATOR
LB
Liz Brand
LENGTH
06:06
hr min
RELEASED
2019
July 31
PUBLISHER
Hachette UK - Bookouture
PRESENTED BY
Audible.com
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
260.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader ,

Humorous tale!

A Whisker in the Dark is the second book in The Oyster Cove Guesthouse series. I recommend reading A Twist in the Tail before starting this latest tale. Josie Waters needed a new start after her divorce and purchased the guesthouse from Millie Sullivan even though she cannot cook (plus cannot keep the books and lacks marketing knowledge). Josie’s cooking skills have not improved despite having Millie’s recipes (she really needs to invest in a timer too). I enjoy Leighann Dobbs relaxed writing style and the fact that the story progresses at a zippy pace (which makes for an easy to read story). I enjoy the sections told from the cat’s perspective. They are intelligent and perceptive felines who are working to train Josie. The cat’s sniff out clues that they share with the humans. It is cute that there is a network of cat’s around town who help to solve the mysteries. The modern whodunit has multiple suspects (the whole Biddeford clan) and misdirection. Flora, Josie’s maid who prefers to watch television to cleaning, is at the top of the suspect list. Millie has known Flora for decades and knows she would not commit murder. But they need solid proof for Sheriff Seth Chamberlain. Solving the mystery is child’s play, but readers will enjoy following the characters as they work to expose the truth. We are left to wonder, though, about what really happened to Jedidiah Biddeford and is there a treasure. We will have to wait for A Purrfect Alibi to get answers. A Whisker in the Dark is a lighthearted caper with quirky characters, zany antics, and madcap humor. A Whisker in the Dark has old bones, hidden treasure, friendly felines, bickering Biddeford’s, burnt bread, and three nosey parkers.

Listeners Also Bought