• $12.99

Publisher Description

An instant New York Times bestseller!
An Indie Next Top 10 Pick
A Parents’ Choice Silver Honor Winner

“A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance.” —School Library Journal (starred review)
“A phenomenal read.” —RT Book Reviews

A skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts—even as she falls in love with a faerie prince—in this gorgeous bestseller that’s “an ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

Isobel is an artistic prodigy with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel’s paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron—Rook, the autumn prince—she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes—a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious, Rook spirits her away to his kingdom to stand trial for her crime. But something is seriously wrong in his world, and they are attacked from every side. With Isobel and Rook depending on each other for survival, their alliance blossoms into trust, then love—and that love violates the fair folks’ ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit, unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: for the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

GENRE
Kids & Young Adults
NARRATOR
JW
Julia Whelan
LENGTH
08:45
hr min
RELEASED
2017
September 26
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster Audio
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
397.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Yourperff ,

Umm....okay?

Sooo.. it stared off strong? & if you don’t really care about logic then you might like it. But spoiler; it was super annoying how she kept saying they didn’t have an emotion but in reality you seen them have emotion with literally every turn of the page. So that never made any sense to me. Also fully believe the ending was just a tad bit selfish. But it’s a good read if you don’t care about the logistics. Lol

Listeners Also Bought