Anthrax Island

    • 3.0 • 38 Ratings
    • $14.99

    • $14.99

Publisher Description

One of Ian Rankin's top ten books of 2021.
'One of the thrillers of the year' Scottish Sun'A first class thriller… This debut is going to be huge'Mari Hannah, author of Without a Trace
FACT: In 1942, in growing desperation at the progress of the war and fearing invasion by the Nazis, the UK government approved biological weapons tests on British soil. Their aim: to perfect an anthrax weapon destined for Germany. They succeeded.
FACT: Though the attack was never launched, the testing ground, Gruinard Island, was left lethally contaminated. It became known as Anthrax Island.
Now government scientists have returned to the island. They become stranded by an equipment failure and so John Tyler is flown in to fix the problem. He quickly discovers there's more than research going on. When one of the scientists is found impossibly murdered inside a sealed room, Tyler realises he's trapped with a killer...
A gripping thriller that will leave you guessing until the final page. Perfect for fans of Terry Hayes, James Swallow and Alistair MacLean.
Praise for Anthrax Island
'Uncomfortably well researched and brimming with pace, Anthrax Island is that rare thing: a thoughtful and intelligent thriller. Absolutely brilliant' M. W. Craven, 2019 CWA Gold Dagger award winning author of The Puppet Show
'A nerve-shredding thriller packed full of atmosphere and tension from a writer to watch' Doug Johnstone, author of The Big Chill
'Anthrax Island makes brilliant use of a unique setting, and at times reads like Agatha Christie by way of John Carpenter's The Thing. Enthralling' Mason Cross, author of Presumed Dead
'Anthrax Island is an exhilarating thrill ride with so many twists and turns that it's impossible to predict what's going to happen next. A classic mystery with a contemporary twist, Anthrax Island is a joy' Chris McGeorge, author of Inside Out
'Smart, rocket-paced and super twisty this phenomenal debut thriller is like a cross between Jack Reacher, Bond, and And Then

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
NARRATOR
DMH
David Morley Hale
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
11:42
hr min
RELEASED
2021
December 7
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SIZE
581.3
MB

Customer Reviews

nbgfft ,

Good

It was a great book, it’s just that it ended ten chapters before the Author did. The last ten or so chapters sort of went on and on with outlandish twists that lost the seriousness of the subject…

crimewriter74 ,

Nobody Likable

For a successful book you need likable characters and none of the ones in this book are the least bit likable.

Marco Gorin ,

Anthrax Island

Brilliant!

Listeners Also Bought

2021
2021
2020
2020
2020
2021

Other Books in This Series