• $16.99

Publisher Description

An international bestseller, a #1 New York Times bestseller, and now a major motion picture! Ruta Sepetys's Between Shades of Gray is now the film Ashes in the Snow!

"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington Post


From New York Times and international bestseller and Carnegie Medal winner Ruta Sepetys, author of Salt to the Sea, comes a story of loss and of fear -- and ultimately, of survival.

A New York Times notable book
An international bestseller
A Carnegie Medal nominee
A William C. Morris Award finalist
A Golden Kite Award winner

Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life -- until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive?

A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief.

Praise for Between Shades of Gray:

"Superlative. A hefty emotional punch." --The New York Times Book Review

"Heart-wrenching . . . an eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart." --The Los Angeles Times

"At once a suspenseful, drama-packed survival story, a romance, and an intricately researched work of historial fiction." --The Wall Street Journal

* "Beautifully written and deeply felt . . . An important book that deserves the widest possible readership." --Booklist, starred review

GENRE
Kids & Young Adults
NARRATOR
EK
Emily Klein
LENGTH
07:46
hr min
RELEASED
2011
March 22
PUBLISHER
Listening Library
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
388.8
MB

Customer Reviews

Heybbbbbnnn ,

Rad

This is one of the best books written it explains what happened in the best way

Fox1214 ,

Love it

My teacher is the author's cousin and she recommended we should read it over the holidays. It's very strong. You feel like you are there.

Pony pie ,

Beautiful

Beautifully written. This book is filled with suspense. It's a very heartwarming novel. Everyone at school should be required to read this book.

Listeners Also Bought