Birthright: Ivy Granger, Psychic Detective, Book 4 (Unabridged) Birthright: Ivy Granger, Psychic Detective, Book 4 (Unabridged)

Birthright: Ivy Granger, Psychic Detective, Book 4 (Unabridged‪)‬

    • 4.0 • 3 Ratings
    • $17.99

    • $17.99

Publisher Description

Being a faerie princess isn't all it's cracked up to be.

Ivy must go to Faerie, but the gateway to the Wisp Court is through Tech Duinn, the house of Donn - Celtic god of the dead. Just her luck.

Unable to share her secret with Jinx, and with Jenna called away on Hunters' Guild business, Ivy must rely on Ceff and Torn to lead her to Death's door, literally, and back again. As if that wasn't dangerous enough, there's no saying what horrors lay in store within the Faerie realm. Too bad the Wisp Court is the one lead Ivy has in the search for her father - and possible salvation.

Maybe hiding away and dodging sidhe assassins isn't so bad after all.

Birthright is the fourth full-length novel in the award-winning Ivy Granger urban fantasy series by E.J. Stevens. The world of Ivy Granger, including the Ivy Granger Psychic Detective series and Hunters' Guild series, is filled with action, paranormal mystery, magic, dark humor, quirky characters, bloodsucking vampires, flirtatious demons, sarcastic gargoyles, sexy shifters, temperamental witches, psychotic faeries, and snarky, kick-butt heroines.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
Melanie A. Mason, Anthony Bowling
hr min
May 12
Sacred Oaks

Customer Reviews

Curly’s Ramblings ,


Audiobook review: Birthright is well written and allowed me to lose myself in Ivy’s world. The slow unfolding of Ivy’s history kept me glued in the hopes that I could figure it out. The storyline is captivating and includes strong and interesting characters. The narrator did a fine job providing unique voices for each character and appropriate tone inflections for each scene. I received a free copy of this audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

MellHay ,

Ivy finally learns about her heritage, and who her real family is.

*I requested this book from the author or narrator for an honest review.

Ivy is known to the Faerie world as dead. This grants Ivy time to find her father, learn to control her wisp powers, and get her name cleared with the Faerie Council. Then she can get back to work to earn money again. Ivy and Jinx, at Jinx's determined request, do take one job, surprisingly it's Jinx's dad. He has floating light luring his watchmen away from his junkyard at night. Ivy can't speak the language of the faeries, and needs to find her father to learn and move the iron sick fey to another place. Summer solstice is nearing and Ivy has the key to the faerie realm to learn what happened with her father. She makes the journey and learns more than she ever thought she could about herself.

We get the dual voices of Melanie and Anthony, for female and male characters. Melanie feels the voice of what I hear or think of with Ivy. Anthony does a little voice for Sparky that reminds me of a little kid. Anthony does a few different voices and personalities with his voice for many different small character parts. I do like that the two narrators together gives us the opportunity to have one act out what is happening under the other's narration. They add in a few small audio affects as well, stone sliding over stone and water falling. Cool! However, I don't think it was my ipod but when Ivy and friends get to Faerie it seems the background becomes thicker--Ch 23 on audio. There are a few chapters that sound as though muffled, like the background is thick. after that too. It's not a huge thing but I did pick it up.

The introduction is changed! The part about Ivy being the PI to inquire with, is different. It says that she's dead!

One thing I notice with each book is that we get each characters history the first time we meet them. This is the fourth book and I remember hearing the histories each time. I think at this point, we can back down on that detailed list. But I do like small hints of past events to remind us, and if it's from a novella that's not needed to continue in the series it makes you curious to get them.

Ivy gets a trip into Faerie. She starts to see her wisp side closer, learning more of what she's looking for. She gets time with a family member. But what she learns in the end is a shocker! Just wait until you learn what Ivy finds out about herself. Wow. Ivy's relationship with Ceff also grows. And her friendship with Torn is really something. She spends a good bit of time with Ceff and Torn, and they go through a lot for her. The two do have quick clips back and forth that is competition of each other but so fun too. They do torment each other, at least Torn torments Ceff with quick comments to Ivy. lol. We also have a new friend, Skilly. He grows on you quick.

This story had me thinking about past stories. I think Ivy, or someone, had contact with Queen Mab in a novella, and I need to go back to double check.

This is a series that is quick and easy to follow for me. Seeing it's summer time, I would highly suggest listening to this as you relax for the summer.

glhince ,

will have readers panting for the next book.

AudioBook Review:
Overall: Stars: 4 Narration 4 Story 4

Firstly – you should start this series from the beginning – each new book builds on the last, and you would be wondering just where this or that element came from. For those who have read the earlier books in the series, this picks up after the events in book three, Burning Bright, and poor Ivy is right in the mix.

By this point, we know that Ivy is able to ‘feel’ others, and is determined to ferret out the abnormal events happening in Harborsmouth. To that end, she has, with her best friend Jinx, opened a detective agency. With multiple issues happening here, there and everywhere, Ivy is constantly struggling to find a balance between her life, her newly discovered genetics, her boyfriend and her best friend.

Now with one answer to her many questions, Ivy needs to rely on Ceff (her boyfriend – a Kelpie King) and Torn (a cat shifter) as she wants to discover more about her father. She’s only just discovered her half-fairy heritage, and with someone still seeking to do her harm, she’s got to make these discoveries without sharing her ‘back from the dead’ status. But, as it always is, nothing is easy for Ivy – and with a new demon to defeat, an uncle who just may be plotting against the kingdom and a plot that is far more dangerous than she ever expected – the action just keeps on coming.

Ivy and her friends are well developed and likable, and with each book they seem to grow more distinct and confident as they accept their own powers and find confidence in successes. Even if those successes are often more a result of luck than actual skill. World building for the series is solid and intriguing, and with each new dimension that opens up, the world is unique and fresh. This book is full of action, angst and several moments for sadness –but fits solidly into the collection and will have readers panting for the next book.

Narration for this story is provided by Melanie A. Mason and Anthony Bowling, and they both presented and enhanced the story. With subtle differentiation in tone, delivery and pitch, the characters were presented as distinct individuals while subtle pauses, pacing changes and emotional overtones added to the story giving readers additional audible input to increases in action, danger or emotion. The narration allowed me to get lost in the story and moments, seeing and experiencing events as Ivy did, although without the mortal danger.

I received an audiobook copy of the title from the author via AudioBook Jukebox for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.