• $21.99

Publisher Description

Josie presses her hands into the center of the drowned girl’s chest and pumps, counting off compressions. She takes in the girl’s beautiful face, her brown eyes glassy. The memory of a champion swimmer on the podium with her teammates - a red swim cap on, her head thrown back in laughter - a stark contrast to the cold, still body before her. Breathe. Just breathe.... 

The body of a young girl lying face down in a swimming pool - white tennis shoes still on her feet, chestnut hair fanned out like a halo - is the last thing Detective Josie Quinn expects to find on an early morning visit to see her brother before class at Denton University. But when she recognizes the girl’s face as she drags her limp body from the water, there’s only one question racing through Josie’s mind: How does a champion swimmer accidentally drown? 

Nysa Somers’ family is distraught. She was a model student, beloved daughter, and everybody’s friend. There’s no way she would do anything reckless enough to put her scholarship at risk, let alone her life. It’s up to Josie and her team to piece together what happened in the hours leading up to Nysa’s death, and that begins with finding her missing backpack. 

But the bag, discarded in the woods on the nearby campus, contains nothing more than empty food wrappers, Nysa’s phone, and a cryptic calendar entry telling her to be a mermaid

The next day, a terrible housefire envelops the nearby home of a retired fireman, nearly killing his two granddaughters. The last words the little girls heard him mutter before he set the blaze were, be a match.  

As the body count rises, it’s only Josie who can see the deadly pattern forming. Can she convince her team that the wrapper found in Nysa’s bag that everyone overlooked is the crucial link they’re missing? Not while her partner, Noah, is avoiding her calls and acting so coldly towards her. Josie knows she must go it alone if she’s going to stop this silent and calculated serial killer before any more precious lives are taken. 

But with the killer finally in her sights, Josie takes a deadly risk and finds herself hanging onto life by her fingernails. Can she trust her team to save her, and before it’s too late? 

A totally gripping crime thriller from an Amazon, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal best-selling author. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni, and Rachel Caine.  

Listeners love Lisa Regan: 

"A brilliant twist.... It had me well and truly hooked.... A fantastic read!! I was captivated by the storyline right from the very first page and I couldn’t put the book down until I’d finished it.... The story twisted and turned.... I faced so many ‘what the hell’ moments as the action just kept coming!! Happily, I have to say I didn’t guess who was responsible and loved how it all cleverly fell into place! Each book of the series just keeps getting better!" (Stardust Book Reviews, five stars)

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
NARRATOR
KH
Kate Handford
LENGTH
10:42
hr min
RELEASED
2020
December 9
PUBLISHER
Hachette UK - Bookouture
PRESENTED BY
Audible.com
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
384.5
MB

Customer Reviews

MeAgain72461 ,

Best one yet

Oh, wow! This 10th novel has been the best so far. Wow, you had me very worried at the end. Love this series keep it up!

Listeners Also Bought