Cloud Atlas: A Novel (Unabridged‪)‬

    • 3.9 • 79 Ratings
    • $16.99

    • $16.99

Publisher Description

By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize

A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.

But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.

List of Readers:
The Pacific Journal of Adam Ewing, read by Scott Brick
Letters From Zedelghem, read by Richard Matthews
Half-Lives: The First Luisa Rey Mystery, read by Cassandra Campbell
The Ghastly Ordeal of Timothy Cavendish, read by John Lee
An Orison of Sonmi~451, read by Kim Mai Guest
Sloosha’s Crossin’ an’ Ev’rythin’ After, read by Kirby Heyborne

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
VN
Various Narrators
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
19:52
hr min
RELEASED
2004
November 16
PUBLISHER
Random House Audio
SIZE
1
GB

Customer Reviews

Ranoutofcreativenicknames ,

Interruption in chapter 2 part 1

Similar to JaneShmoe experienced the abrupt transition towards the end of chapter 2 part 1. Not sure if this is intended??

Sigadore ,

Breathtakingly Disorienting

A story of many parts, times and voices. As I listen initially to each one, I have to get 'custom to their unique dialect and world. By the end of a story line and the abrupt changes, I discover the loss and emotional attachment for each.

As I write this I am only two thirds through the work, but I feel I have lived across centuries. The voice acting is natural and adds to the entire experience. Just be warned, you may not be able to put it down any more successfully than I!

ShepDeuce ,

A profoundly satisfing crescendo of fiction!

I found it hard to read at first because in the first half of the book it muddles through exposition while teasing out plot then starts over six consecutive times. However the second half of the book rewards your patience tremendously.

I honestly believe the audiobook is waaaay better than the written text because of the many varying dialects past present and future.

I highly recomend this story and audiobook

Listeners Also Bought

2010
2013
2004
2011
2007
2012